Study for Kaiserjäger homage 1916

.

Portrait and adjustment study for the painting Kaiserjäger homage 1916.
Left ¾ portrait study of Colonel Fischer von See, his right hand raised in salute. Top right head portrait profile view from left, study of First Lieutenant Friedrich Stolz (designation OBERL. STOLZ by other hand?), below foot dressing study of Kaiserjäger officer (Fischer von See?).

Oil on canvas, dimensions unknown
Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams
Unknown owner/location
B/W reproduction, original source unknown, APH 1995, p.130.

Colonel August Moriz Josef Fischer von See 7.1.1866 Zadar to 10.11.1916 Pasubio (see his catalog entry).
Oberleutnant Friedrich Stolz, 3rd Kaiserjäger Regiment, biographical data unknown, but ca. 1895 to 1917?
Friedrich Stolz was promoted to lieutenant in April 1914 and to first lieutenant before May 1915. In February 1915 he was awarded the Military Cross of Merit 3rd Class with War Decoration, and in August 1915 he was awarded the "Highest Commendation for Brave Conduct before the Enemy" by the Emperor. Wounded in September 1915. In the fall of 1916 with the 3rd Kaiserjäger Regiment (under the command of Colonel August Fischer von See) in positions on the Pasubio in Trento, Italy. Unclear reports say that he was killed or taken prisoner of war in January 1917. After that there are no further traces of him.

The present oil sketches served as preparation for the monumental painting Kaiserjäger homage, which Adams made in the fall of 1916 on the Dolomite front at the Pasubio Pass. The portrait sketch of August Fischer von See was probably the model for his portrait, which Adams also made in 1916 (see its catalog entry). The head profile sketch of First Lieutenant Friedrich Stolz (who is not depicted in the Kaiserjäger homage) is the only remaining evidence of his existence, which would otherwise have been consigned to the oblivion of history. The black and white reproduction is taken from the catalog raisonné APH 1995, p.130. Its source given therein, the Künstlerhausarchiv, could not be confirmed, and the date, around 1915, is also too early, since the sketches were not made until the fall of 1916. The sketch sheet is one of the few surviving works by the artist that document how thoroughly he prepared his paintings by means of sketches and studies, and is therefore of particular value and interest. The study is likely identical to the painting "Colonel Fischer & Adjutant" shown at the Adams Exhibition in the Vienna Künstlerhaus (EL 61 1916/17 #546).

Exhibited

1917 Künstlerhaus Vienna exhibition John Quincy Adams (EL 61 1916/17 #546).

Literature

APH, catalog raisonné JQA 1995, 1995, p. 130, cat.#98, fig. 69.

Provenance

Unknown.
Owner/location unknown.

Top

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Studienblatt zur Kaiserjägerhuldigung 1916

Portrait und Adjustierungsstudie zum Gemälde Kaiserjägerhuldigung.
Links ¾ Portaitstudie Oberst Fischer von See, seine rechte Hand zum Gruss erhoben. Rechts oben Kopfportrait Profilansicht von links, Oberleutnant Friedrich Stolz (Bezeichnung OBERL. STOLZ von fremder Hand?), darunter Fußbekleidungsstudie eines Kaiserjäger Offiziers (Fischer von See?).

Öl auf Leinwand, Abmessungen unbekannt
Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams
Unbekannter Besitzer/Standort
S/W Reproduktion, Orginalquelle unbekannt, APH 1995, S.130.

Oberst August Moriz Josef Fischer von See 7.1.1866 Zadar bis 10.11.1916 Pasubio (s. seinen Katalogeintrag).
Oberleutnant Friedrich Stolz, 3. Kaiserjägerregiment, biographische Daten unbekannt, aber ca. 1895 bis 1917?
Fähnrich Friedrich Stolz wurde im April 1914 zum Leutnant und vor Mai 1915 zum Oberleutnant befördert. Im Februar 1915 wurde er mit dem Militärverdienstkreuz 3. Klasse mit der Kriegsdekoration ausgezeichnet, im August 1915 wurde ihm durch den Kaiser die „Allerhöchste lobende Anerkennung für tapferes Verhalten vor dem Feinde“ ausgesprochen. Im September 1915 verwundet. Im Herbst 1916 mit dem 3. Kaiserjägerregiment (unter dem Kommandanten Oberst August Fischer von See) in Stellungen am Pasubio in Trento, Italien. Unklare Meldungen sprechen davon, dass er mglw. im Jänner 1917 gefallen, bzw. in Kriegsgefangenschaft geraten ist. Danach gibt es keinerlei weiteren Hinweise zu ihm.

Die vorliegenden Ölskizzen dienten als Vorbereitung des Monumentalgemäldes Kaiserjägerhuldigung, die Adams im Herbst 1916 an der Dolomitenfront am Pasubio Pass angefertigt hat. Die Portraitskizze des August Fischer von See’s war wohl die Vorlage zu dessen Portrait, das Adams ebenfalls 1916 angefertigt hat (s. dessen Katalogeintrag). Die Kopf-Profilskizze des Oberleutnants Friedrich Stolz (der in der Kaiserjägerhuldigung nicht abgebildet ist) ist das einzige verbliebene Zeugnis seiner Existenz, die sonst dem Vergessen der Geschichte anheimgefallen wäre. Die Schwarz-Weiß Reproduktion ist dem Werksverzeichnis APH 1995, S.130 entnommen. Deren Quellenangabe Künstlerhausarchiv konnte nicht bestätigt werden, auch die Datierung um 1915 ist zu früh, da die Skizzen erst im Herbst 1916 entstanden sind. Das Skizzenblatt ist eines der wenigen erhaltenen Blätter des Künstlers, die dokumentieren wie gründlich er seine Bilder mittels Skizzen und Studien vorbereitet hat, und dadurch von besonderem Wert.

Ausgestellt

Literatur

APH, Werksverzeichnis JQA 1995, S. 130, Kat.#98, Abb.#69.

Provenienz

Unbekannt.
Standort/Besitzer unbekannt.

Top