Project Catalogue Raisonné John Quincy Adams (1873-1933)

The project aims to scientifically record and research the complete works of the Austrian painter with American roots John Quincy Adams (see page About John Quincy Adams) by means of an annotated catalog raisonné.

Objective

The aim of the catalog is to cover and describe all of Adams' works, including short biographies of the sitters, as well as to comment on them in an artistic, social, and biographical context, in order to provide a comprehensive account of the development of Adams' artistic work and its social background. The Cataloque Raisonné is published in English and German under a "creative commons" license (i.e. free use outside commercial purposes) and is freely available to the public. The online format also offers the advantage that the catalog can always be supplemented and expanded. The editor (Arnulf Grübler) and contributing experts work free of charge. The project is purely scientific and has no commercial background. The grandson of the painter, Count Johannes Walderdorff, as well as all public collections in Austria (Belvedere, Kunsthistorisches Museum, Heeresgeschichtliches Museum, WienMuseum) support this project by providing illustrations of works, online access to Adam's works and assistance with research.

Methodology & data situation

The creation of a catalogue raisonné consists primarily in the systematic collection of information. The archive of the Künstlerhaus Wien contains, in addition to the entry books, where all works that have ever been exhibited in the house are documented, a card index of works by Adams, as well as an extensive collection of photographs, reproductions, and documentation on auctions and owners of Adams' works. These were all digitized and compiled into a database. Furthermore, the information on the three exhibition catalogs of Adams' works in 1917 at the Künstlerhaus, in 1961 at the Heeresgeschichtlichem Museum Wien, and in 1986 at the Akademie der Bildenden Künste Schillerplatz Wien were recorded and entered into the database, as was the catalog raisonné of Alexandra Peyrer-Helmstätt's thesis. A systematic evaluation of all newspaper articles through the unique online archive ANNO of the National Library for references to Adam's works, all auction results from relevant databases (Artnet, Artprice, Lotsearch, Blouin Art Index), and for the period 1900-1945 from the Getty Provenance Index database, were also used for the catalog raisonné database. Particularly valuable were also the personal documents of Countess Harriet Walderdorff (Adam's daughter) from the Künstlerhaus Archive, as well as those of Nikolaus Schaffer and Sylvia Eisenburger, and of Alexandra Peyrer-Helmstätt, which were kindly made available for digitization. Together with systemic online research, these documents resulted in a further expansion of the body of knowledge on works by John Quincy Adams, which currently (4/1/2021) includes about 500 works. A summary can be found in the table overview below.

Data situation for the recording of the works of John Quincy Adams

 #without duplicatewith dimensionswith illustrationundated
      
KH Einlaufbuecher261<237000
KH Zettelkatalog130<105484n.v.
KH Archiv Karton Adams909009090
1917 Austellung59590059
1986 Austellung626261300
APH Werksverzeichnis22522510714817
Forschungsstand 1.4.202152652622429092

Contact

.
Dr. Arnulf Grübler

gruebler@iiasa.ac.at
arnulf@chello.at

Tel 1: +43 / 1 / 504 3633
Tel 2: +43 3477 2680

Post:
A-1040 Vienna
Wiedner Gürtel 12/14A

Top

Projekt Catalogue Raisonné John Quincy Adams (1873-1933)

Das Projekt bezweckt die wissenschafliche Erfassung und Erforschung des Gesamtwerkes des österreichischen Malers mit amerikanischen Wurzeln John Quincy Adams (siehe Seite Über John Quincy Adams) mittels eines kommentierten Werksverzeichnisses, einem sog. Catalogue Raisonné.

Zielsetzung

Zielsetzung des Katalogs ist alle Werke Adams zu erfassen und zu beschreiben, inklusive Kurzbiographien der Dargestellten, sowie diese auch in einem künstlerischen, gesellschaftlichen, und biographischen Kontext zu kommentieren, um so eine umfassende Darstellung der Entwicklung des künsterischen Werkes von Adams, und dessen gesellschaflichen Hintergrundes zu ermöglichen.

Der Cataloque Raisonné wird in Englischer und Deutscher Sprache unter einer „creative commons“ Lizenz (also freie Verwendung ausserhalb kommerzieller Zwecke) publiziert und ist der Öffentlichkeit frei und kostenlos zugänglich. Das Online-Format bietet auch den Vorteil, dass der Katalog immer weiter ergänzt und erweitert werden kann. Der Herausgeber (Arnulf Grübler) und mitwirkende Experten arbeiten kostenlos. Das Projekt ist rein wissenschaftlich und hat keinerlei kommerziellen Hintergrund. Der Enkel des Malers, Graf Johannes Walderdorff, sowie alle öffentlichen Sammlungen in Österrreich (Belvedere, Kunsthistorisches Museum, Heeresgeschichtliches Museum, WienMuseum) unterstützen dieses Projekt mit der Verfügungstellung von Werkabbildungen, Online-Freischaltung von Adams Werken und Unterstützung bei den Recherchen.

Methodik & Datenlage

Die Erstellung eines Werkskataoges besteht vor allem im systemischen Sammeln von Informationen. Das Archiv der Künstlerhauses Wien enthält neben den Einlaufbüchern, wo alle Werke die jemals im Hause ausgestellt ware dokumentiert sind, eine Zettelkartei zu Werken von Adams, sowie eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Photos, Reproduktionen, und Dokumentationen zu Auktionen und Besitzern von Adams Werken. Diese wurden alle digitalisiert und in einer Datenbank zusammengefasst. Weiters wurden die Angaben zu den drei Austellungskatalogen von Adams Werken 1917 im Künstlerhaus, 1961 im Heeresgeschichtlichem Museum Wien, und 1986 in der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Schillerplatz Wien erfasst und in die Datenbank eingetragen, ebenso wie das Werksverzeichnis der Diplomarbeit von Alexandra Peyrer-Helmstätt. Eine systemische Auswertung aller Zeitungsartikel durch das einzigartige online Archiv ANNO der Nationalbibliothek auf Hinweise zu Adams Werken, aller Auktionsergebnisse aus einschlägigen Datenbanken (Artnet, Artprice, Lotsearch, Blouin Art Index), und für den Zeitraum 1900-1945 aus der Getty Provenance Index Datenbank, wurden ebenso für die Werksverzeichnis Datenbank herangezogen. Besonders wertvoll waren ebenso die persönlichen Unterlagen der Gräfin Harriet Walderdorff (Adams Tochter) aus dem Künstlerhausarchiv, sowie von Nikolaus Schaffer und Sylvia Eisenburger, sowie von Alexandra Peyrer-Helmstätt, die mir freundlicherweise zur Digitalisierung überlassen wurden. Zusammen mit systemischen online Recherchen ergaben diese Unterlagen eine weitere Erweiterung des Kenntnisstandes zu Werken von John Quincy Adams, die zur Zeit (1.4.2021) rund 500 Werke umfasst. Eine Zusammenfassung findet sich in der Tabellenübersicht unten.

Datenlage zur Erfassung der Werke John Quincy Adams

 #ohne Duplikatemit Maszangabenmit Abbildungundatiert
      
KH Einlaufbuecher261<237000
KH Zettelkatalog130<105484n.v.
KH Archiv Karton Adams909009090
1917 Austellung59590059
1986 Austellung626261300
APH Werksverzeichnis22522510714817
Forschungsstand 1.4.202152652622429092

Kontakt

.
Dr. Arnulf Grübler

gruebler@iiasa.ac.at
arnulf@chello.at

Tel 1: +43 / 1 / 504 3633
Tel 2: +43 3477 2680

Post:
A-1040 Wien
Wiedner Gürtel 12/14A

Top