Colonel Fischer von See 1916

¾ Portrait standing in greeting position in left profile view in field gray uniform with order clasp.On his side belt with officer's dagger.
The painting in the present state, painted over by another hand (left) without right arm, colored picture background in the upper third; as well as in its reconstructed original state (right), the right arm raised in salute with white canvass picture background.

Oil on canvas 86 x 62 cm
Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams Pasubio 1916
Kaiserjägermuseum Berg Isel Innsbruck KJ283

Colonel August Moriz Josef Fischer von See 7.1.1866 Zadar to 10.11.1916 Pasubio.
August Fischer von See came from an ennobled family of officers and civil servants. His father Karl August was an officer, a brother an official at a k.k. ministry, another brother a high officer (Oberstbrigadier) in the army. August F.v.S. was married to Johanna (Hansi), née Huß, and had two daughters. His life was probably initially characterized by the usual pattern of changing garrison towns. Born in Zadar (Istria, today Croatia, a divergent source names Wels in Upper Austria as birthplace), one daughter was born in Czechoslovakia (1893), another in Vienna (1900). Graduated from Vienna Infantry Cadet School in 1884, appointed lieutenant in 1887, first lieutenant in 1891, in 1895 when the Kaiserjäger were reorganized (divided into 4 regiments) he was already serving as staff officer in Innsbruck as first lieutenant. Transferred to the 3rd Regiment of the Tyrolean Kaiserjäger in 1897 and appointed captain; major in 1910, lieutenant colonel in 1913, transferred to the 4th Regiment of the Kaiserjäger in 1914, appointed commander of the 3rd Regiment of the Kaiserjäger on April 16, 1915, and promoted to colonel shortly thereafter. War deployments 1914 first in Galicia, from summer 1915 on the Dolomite front. He fell on October 11, 1916 at Pasubio in the front line of his positions, killed by a shell splinter that entered the brain through his forehead.

The portrait of Colonel August Fischer von See, full of character, exists in three versions. It was based on an oil sketch that Adams probably made in September 1916 at the Pasubio (Trento, Italy, near lake Garda (see cross-references) and that was used in the monumental painting Kaiserjägerhuldigung, where Colonel Fischer von See, with his cap raised and waving, salutes the heir to the throne, Archduke Karl (see cross-references). The present portrait is also based on this oil sketch. It is probable that the portrait (which is practically identical to the sketch) was made by Adams shortly after the death of August Fischer von See on October 11, 1916, as a honorary salute with destination Kaiserjäger Berg Isel Museum in Innsbruck. The portrait was painted over at a later date by a foreign hand: The outstretched right hand of greeting was covered by a roughly executed dark blue background, and the designation OBERST FISCHER von SEE was added. The original version of the portrait has been preserved in an image from the Kaiserjäger exhibition in Innsbruck in 1917 and is also documented here as a reconstruction. It is particularly striking because of the completely empty white background, except for a background elevation around the colonel's head, which makes the portrait stand out all the more. The colonel's energetic character is excellently captured in the portrait. A contemporary witness (Lieutenant Rudolf von Gelmini), who survived the shell attack lying next to Colonel Fischer, writes in his tribute: "He himself was extremely strict, demanded a lot, made no exception even for himself. And yet he was always a superior who was very concerned for the welfare of his subordinates." (The Pasubio Battles, Teutsch 1937, p.128).

Exhibited

1917 Kaiserjäger Exhibition Innsbruck.

Literature

Provenance

From the artist to
Kaiserjäger Museum Berg Isel, Innsbruck KJ283.

Top

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Oberst Fischer von See 1916

¾ Portrait stehend in Habachtstellung in linker Profilansicht in feldgrauer Uniform und mit Ordensspange. An der Seite Koppel mit Offiziersdolch.
Das Gemälde im jetzigen, von fremder Hand übermaltem Zustand (links) ohne rechtem Arm, flächigem Bildhintergrund im oberen Drittel, sowie im rekonstruiertem Originalzustand (rechts), den rechten Arm zum Gruß erhoben mit leerem Bildhintergrund.

Öl auf Leinwand 86 x 62 cm
Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams Pasubio 1916
Kaiserjägermuseum Berg Isel Innsbruck KJ283

Oberst August Moriz Josef Fischer von See 7.1.1866 Zadar bis 10.11.1916 Pasubio.
August Fischer von See entstammt einer nobilierten Offiziers und Beamtenfamilie. Sein Vater Karl August war Offizier, ein Bruder k.k. Ministerialbeamter, ein anderer hoher Offizier (Oberstbrigadier). August F.v.S. war mit Johanna (Hansi), geb. Huß, verheiratet und hatte zwei Töchter. Sein Leben dürfte anfangs wohl nach dem üblichen Schema wechselnder Garnisonstädte gekennzeichnet gewesen sein. Geboren in Zadar (Istrien, heute Kroatien, eine abweichende Quelle nennt Wels in Oberösterreich als Geburtsstadt), eine Tochter in der Tschechoslowakei (1893), eine andere in Wien (1900) geboren. 1884 aus der Infanteriekadettenschule Wien ausgemustert, 1887 Ernennung zum Leutnant, 1891 zum Oberleutnant, 1895 bei der Neuorganisation der Kaiserjäger (Aufteilung in 4 Regimenter) diente er als Oberleutnant bereits als Stabsoffizier in Innsbruck. 1897 zum 3. Regiment der Tiroler Kaiserjäger transferiert und Ernennung zum Hauptmann; 1910 Major, 1913 Oberstleutnant, 1914 zum 4. Regiment der Kaiserjäger transferiert, am 16. April 1915 zum Kommandanten des 3. Regimentes der Kaiserjäger ernannt und kurz danach zum Oberst befördert. Kriegensatz 1914 zuerst in Galizien, ab Sommer 1915 an der Dolomitenfront. Er fiel am 11. Oktober 1916 am Pasubio in vorderster Reihe seiner Stellungen, von einem Granatsplitter, der durch seine Stirn ins Hirn eindrang, getötet.

Das charakterstarke Portrait Oberst August Fischer von See ist in drei Versionen vorhanden. Als Basis diente eine Ölskizze, die Adams wohl im September 1916 am Pasubio (Trento, Italien, nahe dem Gardasee) angefertigt hatte (s. Querverweise) und die im Monumentalgemälde Kaiserjägerhuldigung, wo Oberst Fischer von See mit erhobener Hand seine Kappe schwenkend den Thronfolger Erzherzog Karl grüßt, Verwendung fand (s. Querverweise). Basierend auf dieser Ölskizze ist auch das vorliegende Portrait entstanden. Es ist wahrscheinlich, dass das Portrait (das mit der Skizze praktisch ident ist) kurz nach dem Tode August Fischer von See’s am 11. Oktober 1916 von Adams extra als Erinnerungsstück mit Bestimmung Berg Isel Museum angefertigt wurde. Das Portrait wurde zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt von fremder Hand übermalt: Die ausgestreckte rechte Grußhand wurde durch einen grob ausgeführten dunkelblauen Bildhintergrund überdeckt, sowie die Bezeichnung OBERST FISCHER von SEE hinzugefügt. Die Originalversion des Portraits hat sich in einer Abbildung aus der Kaiserjäger Ausstellung 1917 in Innsbruck erhalten und ist als Rekonstruktion hier ebenfalls dokumentiert. Sie besticht vor allem auf den, bis auf eine Hintergrund-Höhung um das Haupt des Obersts, völlig leeren, weißen Hintergrund, der das Portrait umso stärker hervortreten lässt. Der energische Charakter des Obersts ist im Bild hervorragend eingefangen. Ein Zeitzeuge (Oberleutnant Rudolf von Gelmini), der neben Oberst Fischer liegend den Granatangriff überlebt hat, schreibt in seiner Würdigung: „Selbst war er äußerst streng, verlangte viel, machte auch bei sich keine Ausnahme. Und doch war er immer ein Vorgesetzter, der für das Wohl seiner Untergebenen sehr besorgt war.“ (Die Pasubio Kämpfe, Teutsch 1937, S.128).

Ausgestellt

1917 Kaiserjäger Ausstellung Innsbruck.

Literatur

Provenienz

Vom Künstler ans
Kaiserjägermuseum Berg Isel, Innsbruck KJ283.

Top