Lilly Berger 1907

Full-length portrait standing, head slightly tilted, looking at the viewer. The sitter is nude except for a transparent black veil and poses in front of a rich interior: marble fireplace with decorative objects (silver goblet, wooden mask in dried flower wreath, porcelain) and a white caftan draped on a chair, a glass vase with a slender neck on top.

Oil on canvas 185 x 140 cm
Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams. 197 (0 and 7 painted on top of each other)
Hungarian National Gallery Budapest Inv.#299.B

Lilly (Lydia) Berger, 18.2.1883 Vienna to ca. 29.4.1942 Lublin/Sobibor (Shoa); also Lydia Hernfeld (Herrnfeld), after 1924 Lydia Roth; solo dancer at the Vienna Court Opera and much portrayed Viennese beauty.
Daughter of Samuel Hernfeld (Herrnfeld) (1843-1925) and Josefine H., née Mandel, remarried Berger (1855-1905). From the first marriage there are 5 children (Lydia and four brothers). The parents divorced in 1889 (in the monarchy divorce was de facto impossible for Catholics, a restriction that did not apply to other religious affiliations such as Protestants and Jews). The mother remarried to Jakob Berger (1849-1903), from this 2nd marriage three children: a half-brother as well as the half-sisters Olga B., married Dirsztay de Dirsztay (1883-1962), and Emma B., married Kühtreiber (1885-1917).

Lydia, who takes the stage name Berger, Olga and Emma attend the ballet school of the Court Opera and are accepted into the ensemble: Olga in 1899, Lydia and Emma in 1901 (documented performances of Emma only from 1908). They become known as "Berger Girls" and become popular because of their "beauty, grace and Viennese charm" (Riki Raab, Hist. Jahrbuch Wien 1972, p. 203). In the period 1901-1911, Lydia Berger appeared in almost 1000 performances at the Vienna Court Opera in operas including Carmen (G. Bizet), Fledermaus (J. Strauss), and Lakmé (L. Delibes), and in the ballets Cinderella (J. Strauss) , Coppelia (L. Delibes), Excelsior (R. Marenco), and Lazy Hans (O. Nebdal), among many others (see the archive of the Vienna State Opera).
Artistic differences (Lydia finds the ballet direction of the Court Opera too conservative) lead to a sensational short-term work stoppage in 1911 (a newspaper -Das Interessante Blatt 9.11.1911 p.22- writes of a "strike"). As a result, Olga and Lydia leave the Court Opera. Lydia has a brief second career in expressive dance performing in Germany with Grete Wiesenthal (who has also left the Court Opera) in Hugo von Hoffmannthal's Amor and Psyche in Berlin in 1911, but does not pursue this career further. From 1912 on-wards she lives in Vienna as a well-supported private and Court Opera pensioner. Olga marries Baron Franz Jacob Dirsztay de Dirsztay in 1911 and leads an upper-middle-class life in Vienna. She survived the Nazi period in exile with her daughter in London and returned to Vienna around 1960, where she soon died (1962) (Riki Raab, Hist. Jahrbuch Wien 1972, p. 203). Emma left the Court Opera in 1913 to marry the painter Albert Conrad Kühtreiber (later known by his artist name Albert Paris Gütersloh). She died young in 1917 due to complications following the birth of her daughter in 1915.

Probably as early as around 1911/1912, Lilly Berger entered into a relationship with the married industrialist Emil Roth (1868-1954). The latter, together with his brother Karl Roth (1867-1930) (the brothers became ultimately enemies), was heir to and partner in the company founded by their father Georg (Georges) Roth ("Kapselroth" 1834-1903), which operated a machine factory including steelworks and iron foundry in Vienna Landstrasse and also a munitions factory in Lichtenwörth, Lower Austria. Already around 1910 and especially during the First World War, Roth was the largest munitions factory in Europe with up to 15,000 employees in 1914-18. After the war, the conversion to civilian products was not successful, and the company went into liquidation in 1929. Despite this decline, however, considerable assets remained, including a castle-like villa on Lake Grundel (used as a private residence by the Josef Goebbels family during the Nazi era). In 1916 Lilly gave birth to a son: Georg Roth. After the death of Emil Roth's wife in 1917, there are nevertheless no sources indicating that Emil Roth married Lilly Berger. In 1924, Lydia Berger/Hernfeld adopted the name Roth with the approval of the Vienna Magistrate.
In 1912, Lilly Berger acquired a feudal villa in Vienna’s Neuwaldegg area (Artariagasse 5), which still exists today. In 1913, she acquired a large adjoining plot of land (today developed with municipal buildings). In the same year she objected to the income tax return of the tax office and a public hearing took place, where her financial dealings as a very wealthy woman became apparent. The tax office estimated her wealth at 300,000 crowns and her annual income at 13,600 crowns, of which 12,000 crowns was income from property and 1,600 crowns from her pension from the court opera. (During her active period as a solo dancer and mimic of the Court Opera, her salary was 3,600 crowns annually, Riki Raab, 1972, p. 203.) Particularly controversial in the tax proceedings was her ownership of an electric automobile, making Lilly Berger an early female automobile pioneer, which was interpreted by the tax authorities as a sign of her "upscale lifestyle." Lilly's objection to the tax assessment was not upheld (Neues Wiener Tagblatt 10.4.1913, p. 17). Her fortune, which amounted to about 10 times her total income for her entire career at the court opera, indicates that she received donations from third parties (likely from Emil Roth).

Despite the postwar inflation, Lilly Berger can thus be considered well-to-do, which makes her tragic fate as a Shoa victim all the more puzzling. Apparently, she failed to seek safety in exile in 1938 (for example, with her sister in London). In 1939, a heavy blow of fate hits her. Her son Dr. Georg Roth, together with his fiancée Trude "Notschi" Kuntner, commits a spectacular double suicide in the Roth Villa on Lake Grundel on September 5, 1939, probably out of despair over the racial persecution he was subjected to because of his Jewish mother Lydia (who, however, had already left Judaism in 1901).
Lydia/Lilly Roth was arrested on the street in the spring of 1942 (whether by chance or after denunciation is unknown) and deported to Ibica on 27.4. 1942. Her train arrives on 29.4.1942 in Wlodawa, 7 km from the Sobibor concentration camp. There she is murdered shortly after (see her entry in the Yad Vashem database).

The portrait of Lilly Berger is captivating both for its daring depiction, which more unveils than conceals, the prominence of the sitter, and for the formally successful depiction, which juxtaposes the de facto nude with an opulently sumptuous interior (Adam's studio at Theresianumgasse 5). The painting was exhibited in the autumn exhibition of the Künstlerhaus Vienna in 1907 (KH EL Vol.51 #3464) and surprisingly was only briefly mentioned in a single newspaper note. The so-called trust price (the artist's asking price) was a whopping 12,000 crowns. The painting sold at the exhibition. It is not known how it came into the holdings of the Hungarian National Gallery, where it is listed only as "Lilly". Inquiries about the provenance of the painting were unsuccessful due to the lack of documentation at the museum.

Note: Biographical data courtesy of Ms. Traude Triebel.
.

Exhibited

Künstlerhaus Vienna Fall Exhibition 1907
(KH EL Vol 51 1907/08 #3464).

Literature

APH, catalog raisonné JQA 1995, p. 79, cat.#48, fig.#33.

Provenance

Unknown.
Hungarian National Gallery, Budapest. Inv.#299.B

Top

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Lilly Berger 1907

Ganzkörperportrait stehend, den Kopf leicht geneigt, den Betrachter anblickend. Die Dargestellte ist bis auf einen durchsichtigen, schwarzen Schleier nackt und posiert vor einem reichen Interieur: Marmorkamin mit Dekorationsobjekten (Silberpokal, Holzmaske in getrockneten Blumenkranz, Porzellan) und einem auf einem Stuhl drapierten weißen Kaftan, darauf eine Glasvase mit schlankem Hals.

Öl auf Leinwand 185 x 140 cm
Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams. 197 (0 und 7 übereinandergemalt)
Hungarian National Gallery Budapest Inv.#299.B

Lilly (Lydia) Berger, 18.2.1883 Wien bis ca. 29.4.1942 Lublin/Sobibor (Shoa); auch Lydia Hernfeld (Herrnfeld), nach 1924 Lydia Roth; Solotänzerin an der Wiener Hofoper und viel portraitierte Wiener Schönheit.
Tochter des Samuel Hernfeld (Herrnfeld) (1843-1925) und der Josefine H., geb. Mandel, wiederverh. Berger (1855-1905). Aus der ersten Ehe 5 Kinder (Lydia und vier Brüder). Die Eltern werden 1889 geschieden (in der Monarchie war eine Scheidung für Katholiken de facto unmöglich, eine Einschränkung, die aber nicht für andere Religionszugehörigkeiten wie Protestanten und Juden galt). Die Mutter verheiratet sich wieder mit Jakob Berger (1849-1903), aus dieser 2. Ehe drei Kinder: ein Halbbruder sowie die Halbschwestern Olga B., verh. Dirsztay de Dirsztay (1883-1962), und Emma B., verh. Kühtreiber (1885-1917).

Lydia, die den Künstlernamen Berger annimmt, Olga und Emma besuchen die Ballettschule der Hofoper und werden ins Ensemble aufgenommen: Olga 1899, Lydia und Emma 1901 (dokumentierte Auftritte Emma's erst ab 1908). Sie werden als "Berger Madln" bekannt und wegen ihrer „Schönheit, Grazie und Wiener Charme“ (Riki Raab, Hist. Jahrbuch Wien 1972, S. 203) beliebt und sehr populär. Im Zeitraum 1901-1911 wirkte Lydia Berger bei fast 1000 Vorstellungen an der Wiener Hofoper mit u.a. in den Opern Carmen (G. Bizet), Fledermaus (J. Strauss), und Lakmé (L. Delibes), und in den Balletten Aschenbrödel (J. Strauss) , Coppelia (L. Delibes), Excelsior (R. Marenco), und der Faule Hans (O. Nebdal), unter vielen weiteren (s. dazu das Archiv der Wiener Staatsoper).
Künstlerische Differenzen (Lydia findet die Ballettausrichtung der Hofoper als zu konservativ) führen 1911 zu einer aufsehenerregenden kurzfristigen Arbeitsniederlegung (eine Zeitung -Das Interessante Blatt 9.11.1911 S.22- schreibt von einem „Streik“). In Folge dessen verlassen Olga und Lydia die Hofoper. Lydia hat eine kurze zweite Karriere im Ausdruckstanz bei Auftritten in Deutschland, wo sie mit der (ebenfalls aus der Hofoper ausgetretenen) Grete Wiesenthal in Hugo von Hoffmannthal’s Amor und Psyche 1911 in Berlin auftritt, aber verfolgt diese Karriere nicht weiter und lebt ab 1912 als wohlversorgte Private und Hofoper-Pensionistin in Wien. Olga verehelicht sich 1911 mit dem Baron Franz Jacob Dirsztay de Dirsztay und führt einen großbürgerlichen Haushalt in Wien. Sie überlebt die Nazizeit im Exil bei ihrer Tochter in London und kehrt um 1960 nach Wien zurück, wo sie alsbald (1962) verstarb (Riki Raab, Hist. Jahrbuch Wien 1972, S. 203). Emma verlies die Hofoper 1913, um sich mit dem Maler Albert Conrad Kühtreiber (später unter seinem Künstlernamen Albert Paris Gütersloh bekannt) zu verehelichen. Sie verstarb 1917 jung aufgrund von Komplikationen nach der Geburt ihrer Tochter (1915).

Wohl bereits um 1911/1912 ging Lilly Berger eine Beziehung mit dem verheirateten Industriellen Emil Roth ein (1868-1954). Dieser war zusammen mit seinem Bruder Karl Roth (1867-1930) (die Brüder waren schlussendlich verfeindet), Erbe und Gesellschafter der von ihrem Vater Georg (Georges) Roth („Kapselroth“ 1834-1903) gegründeten Firma, die eine Maschinenfabrik samt Stahlwerk und Eisengießerei in Wien Landstraße und auch eine Munitionsfabrik in Lichtenwörth, Niederösterreich betrieb. Bereits um 1910 und speziell während des Ersten Weltkrieges war die Firma Roth die größte Munitionsfabrik in Europa mit 1914-18 bis zu 15,000 Mitarbeitern. Nach dem Kriege gelang die Konversion zu Zivilprodukten nicht, und die Firma ging 1927 in Ausgleich und 1929 in Liquidation. Trotz dieses Niederganges verblieb aber noch beträchtliches Vermögen, u.a. eine schlossartige Villa am Grundelsee (in der Nazizeit von der Familie Josef Goebbels als Privatresidenz benutzt). 1916 gebar Lilly einen gemeinsamen Sohn: Georg Roth. Nach dem Tode der Gattin Emil Roths im Jahre 1917, gibt es dennoch keine Quellen, die eine Heirat des Emil Roths mit Lilly Berger belegen. 1924 nimmt Lydia Berger/Hernfeld mit Bewilligung des Magistrats Wien den Namen Roth an.
1912 erwirbt Lilly Berger eine feudale Villa in Neuwaldegg (Artariagasse 5), die heute noch besteht. 1913 erwarb sie ein anliegendes großes Grundstück (heute mit Gemeindebauten bebaut). Im selben Jahr beeinsprucht Sie die Einkommensteuererklärung des Finanzamtes und es kommt zu einer öffentlichen Verhandlung, wo ihre finanzielle Gebarung als sehr vermögende Frau offenkundig wird. Das Finanzamt schätzt ihr Vermögen auf 300,000 Kronen, sowie das jährliche Einkommen auf 13,600 Kronen, davon 12,000 Kronen Einkommen aus Vermögen und 1,600 Kronen Pension der Hofoper. (In ihrer aktiven Zeit als Solotänzerin und Mimikerin der Hofoper belief sich ihr Gehalt auf 3,600 Kronen jährlich, Riki Raab, 1972, S. 203.) Besonders kontrovers im Steuerverfahren war ihr Besitz eines Elektro-Automobils, womit Lilly Berger eine frühe weibliche Automobilpionierin war, was von der Steuerbehörde als Zeichen ihrer „gehobenen Lebensführung“ ausgelegt wurde. Lillys Einspruch der Steuervorschreibung wurde nicht nachgegeben (Neues Wiener Tagblatt 10.4.1913, S. 17). Ihr Vermögen, das sich auf das rund 10-Fache ihres Gesamteinkommens ihrer gesamten Karriere an der Hofoper belief, deutet auf Zuwendungen Dritter hin (wohl durch Emil Roth).

Trotz der Nachkriegsinflation kann also Lilly Berger als wohlsituiert angesehen werden, was ihr tragisches Schicksal als Shoa Opfer umso rätselhafter macht. Offensichtlich verabsäumt sie es, sich 1938 ins Exil in Sicherheit zu bringen (zum Beispiel zu ihrer Schwester in London). 1939 trifft sie ein schwerer Schicksalsschlag. Ihr Sohn Dr. Georg Roth begeht am 5.9.1939 zusammen mit seiner Verlobten Trude „Notschi“ Kuntner in der Roth Villa am Grundelsee einen spektakulären Doppel-Selbstmord wohl aus Verzweiflung über die rassische Verfolgung, die er wegen seiner jüdischen Mutter Lydia (die aber bereits 1901 aus dem Judentum ausgetreten war) ausgesetzt war.
Lydia/Lilly Roth wurde im Frühjahr 1942 auf der Straße verhaftet (ob durch Zufall oder nach Denunziation ist unbekannt) und am 27.4.1942 nach Ibica deportiert. Ihr Zug kommt am 29.4.1942 in Wlodawa, 7 km vom KZ Sobibor entfernt, an. Dort wird sie kurz danach ermordet (s. ihren Eintrag in der Datenbank des Yad Vashem).

Das Portrait Lilly Berger’s besticht sowohl durch die Gewagtheit der Darstellung, die mehr ent- als verhüllt, die Prominenz der Dargestellten, sowie der formal gelungenen Darstellung, die den de-facto Akt einem überreichem prunkvollem Interieur (Adams Atelier in der Theresianumgasse 5) gegenüber stellt. Das Bild wurde in der Herbstausstellung des Künstlerhauses 1907 (KH EL Vol.51 #3464) ausgestellt und überraschenderweise nur in einer einzigen Zeitungsnotiz kurz erwähnt. Der Vertrauenspreis (Preisvorstellung des Künstlers) betrug stolze 12,000 Kronen. Das Bild wurde bei der Ausstellung auch verkauft. Wie es in den Bestand der Ungarischen Nationalgalerie gelangt ist, wo es lediglich als „Lilly“ geführt wird, ist nicht bekannt. Nachfragen zur Provenienz des Bildes waren aufgrund fehlender Unterlagen des Museums nicht erfolgreich.

Anmerkung: Biographische Daten freundliche Mitteilung von Frau Traude Triebel.
.

Ausgestellt

Künstlerhaus Wien Herbstausstellung 1907
(KH EL Vol 51 1907/08 #3464).

Literatur

APH, Werksverzeichnis JQA 1995, S. 79, Kat.#48, Abb.#33.

Provenienz

Unbekannt.
Ungarische Nationalgalerie, Budapest. Inv.#299.B

Top