Hilda von Auersperg 1924

.

Three-quarter portrait in sitting position, profile view from the left, body and view turned to the viewer, against a stylized landscape background. Her right hand rests on her thigh, her left hand holds the seat. She has short brown hair.The sitter wears a sleeveless blue silk dress with round neckline, over it a transparent white chiffon, over her lower legs a blue coat with fur collar; she wears a pearl ring on the ring finger of her left hand.

Oil on canvas 125 x 88 cm
Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams 1924
Private collection Austria.

Hildegard Karoline Johanna Maria "Hilda", née von Auersperg (11.6.1895 Vienna to 18.11.1981 Vermont, USA). 1st marriage (1922) to Dr. Otto von Pollak-Parnegg (1878-1937); 2nd marriage (1928) to Auguste Olympe Hériot (1886-1951); 3rd marriage (1946) to Luis Nathaniel Rothschild (1882-1951).

Coming from an old aristocratic family, Hilda Auersperg cared little for aristocratic conventions, which found expression in her multiple - and from an aristocratic point of view improper - marriages. Two of her husbands were ennobled Jews, one a French department store (Grands Magasins du Louvre) heir and boxer. What her husbands had in common was their (great) wealth and their willingness not only to accept but also to finance an alternative and glamorous lifestyle for their spouse. In 1924 Hilda was married Baroness von Pollak-Parnegg, a family with whom Adams was acquainted (and painted 2 female portraits: Gisela Groedel, née Pollak-Parnegg, in 1908, and Ella Pollak-Parnegg in 1923). The Hadersdorf moated castle in Vienna served as her residence. With her 2nd husband (who, after an unhappy love affair with the famous [courtesan] Colette, was probably happy to leave Paris), Hilda moved into a completely contrary but no less spectacular domicile in the Prater Cottage: the Villa Hériot, built and furnished in 1931 in the Bauhaus style (with indoor swimming pool with underwater lighting, fencing hall, etc.). This marriage also ended in divorce in 1938, and after Austria's annexation by Nazi Germany, Hilda emigrated to the U.S., where she married another Viennese émigré in 1946: Luis Nathaniel Rothschild, who was released into exile only after a lengthy GESTAPO imprisonment. They lived at Ellis Farm in Vermont.

In 1947 Hilda brought her possessions that had remained in Vienna to the USA (BDA export Zl 272/47 GZ 3489/47), including an Adams portrait of Luis Nathaniel Rothschild also from 1924 (lost), which suggests a closer connection between the two already in Vienna at the time when she was Baroness Pollak-Parnegg. The Adams portrait of Hilda, however, remained in Austria, where it still delights visitors to the Auersperg castle, which has been converted into a hotel.

Exhibited

Literature

Provenance

Sitter.
Descendants of her Auersperg family.
Private collection Austria.

Top

Hilda von Auersperg 1924

Dreiviertel Portrait in sitzender Stellung vor stark stilisiertem Landschftshintergrund, rechte Hand auf dem Oberschenkel aufliegend, linke Hand auf Sitzgelegenheit abgestützt. Seitenasicht von links, Oberkörper und Kopf nach links gewandt, den Betrachter anblickend. Die Dargestellte trägt ein ärmelloses blaues Seidenkleid mit Rundausschnitt, darüber ein durchsichtiger weisser Chiffon, über die Unterschenkel ein blauer Mantel mit Pelzkragen; sie trägt einen Perlenring am Ringfinger der linken Hand.

Öl auf Leinwand 125 x 88 cm
Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams 1924
Privatsammlung Österreich.

Hildegard Karoline Johanna Maria „Hilda“, geb. von Auersperg (11.6.1895 Wien bis 18.11.1981 Vermont, USA). 1. Ehe (1922) mit Otto von Pollak-Parnegg (1878-1937); 2. Ehe (1928) mit Auguste Olympe Hériot (1886-1951); 3. Ehe (1946) mit Luis Nathaniel Rothschild (1882-1951).
Aus alter hocharistrokatischer Familie stammend, kümmerte sich Hilda Auersperg eher wenig um adelige Konventionen, was in ihrern mehrfachen –und aus adeliger Sicht unstandesgemässen-- Ehen Ausdruck fand. Zwei Ihrer Ehemänner waren nobilitierte Juden, einer ein französischer Kaufhauserbe (Grands Magasins du Louvre) und Boxer. Gemeinsamkeit waren ihr (grosser) Reichtum und die Bereitschaft einen alternativen und glamorösen Lebensstil ihrer Gattin nicht nur zu akzeptieren, sondern auch zu finanzieren.

1924 war Hilda verheiratete Baronin von Pollak-Parnegg, eine Familie mit der Adams bekannt war (und 2 Damenportraits malte: 1908 Gisela Groedel, geb. Pollak-Parnegg, und 1923 Ella Pollak-Parnegg). Als Wohnsitz diente das Wasserschloss Hadersdorf in Wien. Mit ihrem 2. Ehemann (der nach einer unglücklichen Liebesaffaire mit der berühmten [Kurtisane] Colette wohl gerne Paris verlies), bezog Hilda ein völlig konträres, aber nicht weniger spektakuläres Domizil im Prater-Cottage: die 1931 im Bauhaustil erbaute und eingerichtete Villa Hériot (mit indoor Schwimmbad mit Unterwasserbeleuchtung, Fechtsaal, etc.). Auch diese Ehe endete 1938 in Scheidung, und nach dem Anschluss Österreichs an Nazi-Deutschlad ging Hilda in die USA, wo sie sich mit einem weiteren Wiener Emigranten 1946 verehelichte, den erst nach längerer GESTAPO Haft ins Exil entlassenen Luis Nathaniel Rothschild. Sie bewohnten die Ellis Farm in Vermont. 1947 holte Hilda ihren in Wien vebliebenen Besitz in die USA (BDA Ausfuhr Zl 272/47 GZ 3489/47) nach, unter anderem ein Adams Portrait von Luis Nathaniel Rothschild ebenso aus 1924 (verschollen), was eine engere Verbindung der beiden bereits in Wien zur Zeit als Baronin Pollak-Parnegg nahelegt. Das Adams Portrait von Hilda verblieb aber in Österreich, wo es bis heute die Besucher des in ein Hotel umgewandelten Auersperg Schlosses erfreut.

Ausgestellt

1924 Künstlerhaus Wien (KH EL 72 1924/25 #2306).

Literatur

Provenienz

Dargestellte.
Deren Familiennachkommen,
Privatbesitz Österreich.

Top