Countess Kitty Schönborn 1916

.

Full body larger-than-life portrait in rich room interior (illustrated by a golden brocade curtain, a painting in golden frame and an antique dresser). The portrayed is standing at the dresser, her right arm propped on it. She wears a black taffeta dress with V-neck, trimmed with white silk and a sheer black silk scarf. Her jewelry includes a floor-length pearl necklace, a pearl ring and pearl ear clips. At her feet a standing greyhound (Borzoi dog).

Oil on canvas 215 x 128.5 cm
Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams 1916
Belvedere Vienna Inv.No. 6069


Kitty Schönborn / Baronin Rothschild - Belvedere Wien

Kitty Countess Schönborn (1885-1946). Born Katherine Wolff, Philadelphia, USA; 1st marriage (1904-1911) to Dandridge Spotswood (1872-1939); 2nd marriage (1911-1924) to Erwin Count Schönborn-Buchheim (1871-1937), 3rd marriage (1924-1946) to Baron Eugène de Rothschild (1884-1975); died 1946 in Locust Valley, Nassau, New York, USA (also buried there). The picture designation follows the original at the time of the 1st exhibition (1917) as Countess Kitty Schönborn (current designation in the Belvedere collection as Kitty Baroness Rothschild).

Icon of Adam's glamorous portrait style and in this surpassing a corresponding portrait by Philip de László. Representation, (larger than life) picture format, and attributes (floor-length pearl necklace, greyhound, short hair) follow the staging of the masterful photo portraits of Dora Kallmus from 1913 and reflect the beauty and particular attraction of the depicted and her dazzling biography (US girl marries her way into highest aristrocracy and money). Thus, already during the First World War, the canon of self-portrayal of society ladies of the 1920s was established.

What is remarkable about the provenance history of the painting is that during the war and despite the plundering and racial persecution of all the Rothschilds, it was forwarded to the couple Eugène and Kitty Rothschild from Vienna to Paris and taken by them into exile in the USA. After Kitty Rothschild's early death, the painting remained with Eugène Rothschild and was dedicated by him in his will to the Belvedere in 1975.

Exhibited

1917 Künstlerhaus Wien exhibition John Quincy Adams No. 29

1986 Academy Schillerplatz Vienna, Viennese Society in Portrait, Catalog No. 39

Literature

Schaffer/Eisenburger 1986, exhibition catalog #39 (with color ill.).

APH, catalog raisonné JQA 1995, p. 156, cat.#124, fig.#87.

Provenance

Sitter.
Kitty and Eugène de Rothschild, Vienna, Paris, New York, Monte Carlo.
1975 dedication to the Belvedere Vienna Inv. no. 6069

Top

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Gräfin Kitty Schönborn 1916

Ganzkörperportrait in Überlebensgröße in reichem Zimmerinterieur (durch goldenen Brokatvorhang, Gemälde im Goldrahmen und antiker Kommode illustriert). Dargestellte an Kommode stehend, den rechten Arm darauf abgestützt. Schwarzes Taftkleid mit V-Auschnitt mit weißer Seide eingefasst sowie mit durchscheinendem schwarzen Seidenschal. Bodenlange Perlenkette, Perlenring und Ohrclips. Zu ihren Füssen ein stehender Windhund (Barsoirüde).

Öl auf Leinwand 215 x 128.5
signiert: John Quincy Ɑdams 1916
Belvedere Wien Inv.Nr. 6069

Kitty Schönborn / Baronin Rothschild - Belvedere Wien

Kitty Gräfin Schönborn (1885-1946). Geb. Katherine Wolff, Philadelphia, USA; 1. Ehe (1904-1911) mit Dandridge Spotswood (1872-1939); 2. Ehe (1911-1924) mit Erwin Graf Schönborn-Buchheim (1871-1937), 3. Ehe (1924-1946) mit Baron Eugène de Rothschild (1884-1975); gestorben 1946 in Locust Valley, Nassau, New York, USA (dort auch begraben). Die Bildbezeichnung folgt dem Orginal zur Zeit der 1. Ausstellung (1917) als Gräfin Kitty Schönborn (jetzige Bezeichnung in der Belvedere Sammlung als Kitty Baronin Rothschild).

Ikone des glamourösen Portraitstils Adams und in diesem ein korrespondierendes Portrait Philip de László’s übertreffend. Darstellung, (überlebensgrosses) Bildformat, und Attribute (bodenlange Perlenkette, Windhund, kurze Haare) folgen der Inszenierung der meisterhaften Photoportraits von Dora Kalmus von 1913 und geben die Schönheit und besondere Anziehungskraft der dargestellten Person und ihrer schillernden Biografie (US girl marries her way into highest aristrocracy and money) wieder. Bereits während des Weltkrieges wurde somit der Kanon der Selbstdarstellung von Society-Damen der 1920er Jahre vorweggenommen.

Bemerkenswert an der Provenienzgeschichte des Bildes ist, daβ es während des Krieges und trotz der Ausplünderung und rassischen Verfolgung aller Rothschilds, dem Ehepaar Eugène und Kitty Rothschild von Wien nach Paris nachgesandt wurde und von diesen ins Exil in die USA migenommen wurde. Nach dem frühen Tod Kitty Rothschild's verblieb das Bild bei Eugène Rothschild und wurde von ihm 1975 testamentarisch dem Belvedere gewidmet.

Ausgestellt

1917 Künstlerhaus Wien Kollektivausstellung John Quincy Adams No. 29

1986 Akademie Schillerplatz Wien, Wiener Gesellschaft im Portrait, Katalog Nr. 39

Literatur

Schaffer/Eisenburger 1986, Ausstellungskatalog #39 (m.Farbabb.).

APH, Werksverzeichnis JQA 1995, S. 156, Kat.#124, Abb.#87.

Provenienz

Dargestellte.
Kitty und Eugène de Rothschild, Wien, Paris, New York, Monte Carlo.
1975 Widmung ans Belvedere Wien Inv. Nr. 6069

Top