John Quincy Adams - Major Works

Mary Teltscher, sister of the artist before 1900

. Almost full body portrait in sitting position, looking at the viewer. The sitter is seated on a red velvet armchair with a low, semicircular backrest. She is wearing an opulent white silk ball gown with puff sleeves that [...]

read more »

Alice Hauser 1901

. Three-quarter full-length portrait from rear/leftside view, the face shown in lateral profile, in front of turquoise-colored background. The sitter is wearing a black dress with black taffeta sleeves and a large taffeta [...]

read more »

Prayer for the dead in the poorhouse of Volendam 1903

. Image description: see below. Oil on canvas, 198 x 244 cm Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams Volendam 1903 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya Museum Mumbai Sir Dorab Tata Collection 33.38

read more »

Bertha Habig 1905

¾ Portrait in sitting position, body in front/side view, face in profile view. The sitter is seated turned to her left side in a dark green club chair, legs crossed. Her right hand rests on her knee holding a closed fan, [...]

read more »

The journey of life (triptych) 1905

Triptych: Birth, Farewell, Death. Image description: see below. Oil on canvas 118 x 171 cm (L: 105 x 57, M: 118 x 57, R: 105 x 57 cm) Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams Volendam 905 Galeria Nationale de l'Arte Rome Image: [...]

read more »

Gretl Urban 1905

. Full-length near-profile portrait, in standing position, shown in residential interior. The portrayed woman, her hair pinned up, puts on a white silk evening glove. She wears a dark purple silk dress, the sleeves trimmed [...]

read more »

Group Portrait of 5 Children 1905

. For description s. text below. Oil on canvas 165 x 140 cm Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams 905 Unknown private collection (likely USA)

read more »

Lilly Berger 1907

Full-length portrait standing, head slightly tilted, looking at the viewer. The sitter is nude except for a transparent black veil and poses in front of a rich interior: marble fireplace with decorative objects (silver goblet, [...]

read more »

Marie Hofteufel 1907

Marie Hofteufel as Mabel Chiltern in Oskar Wilde's "An Ideal Husband". Full-length portrait view from the right, standing in front of a large Empire mirror, head slightly tilted, looking at a begging wire-haired dachshund [...]

read more »

Theo Drill-Oridge 1907

Full-body portrait in standing position, slightly turned to the right, her left elbow supported on a high Renaissance chest; head slightly lowered, but not looking at the viewer. Background a living room interior with landscape [...]

read more »

The artist and his family 1908

. Image description see below. Oil on canvas 210 x 200 cm Signed: John Quincy Ɑdams 908 Vienna Museum Inv.#78.742 Dedication Countess Walderdorff

read more »

Max Friedmann 1908

¾ Portrait in a sitting position. The sitter is seated in a brown club chair, legs crossed, hands clasped together, a cigar in his right hand. The body is slightly turned, the head facing the viewer, looking directly at [...]

read more »

At the fish scale Volendam 1909

. For picture description see below. Oil on canvass 158 x 200 cm Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams 909 Unknown private collection (Austria?)

read more »

The operation 1909

. Image description see below. Oil on canvas 200 x 200 cm Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams 1909 University of Vienna, Institute for the History of Medicine Josefinum, picture location: University Hospital for [...]

read more »

Nude study at lake Wolfgang 1911

Full portrait of a slender, nude model standing on a stone on the lakeshore. Hair pinned back into a knot, upper body slightly tilted forward, pulling up a blanket halfway to the thigh. Water surface and landscape iridescently [...]

read more »

Chaconne - Painter Prinz and Harriet Adams 1911

. Image description see below. Oil on canvas ca. 230 x 200 cm Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams Unknown private collection (USA?) Image: Reproduction New York Graphical Society .

read more »

Prince Adalbert of Prussia 1912

3/4 Portrait standing en face, head slightly turned looking towards the viewer, but not looking directly at him. The sitter wears a blue navy uniform with gold lanterns and gold buttons, white vest and white shirt with stand-up [...]

read more »

Steffy Adams 1912

Full-length portrait in seated position on a blue-red armchair with woven seat; legs crossed, her right hand rests on her chin, her left hand rests on armrest. She wears a blue-gray velvet dress with white blouse and black [...]

read more »

Emperor Franz Josef I 1914

Three-quarter portrait in sitting position. The 84-year-old emperor is sitting on a white-red-gold baroque armchair, his hands resting on his thighs. He wears his characteristic white-blond whiskers, his head is bald, his [...]

read more »

Emperor Charles in the field 1916

Three-quarter portrait standing, body turned slightly to the left, head turned to the right, looking into the distance. The emperor in field gray uniform with rapier, and decorated with several orders (including the Habsburg [...]

read more »

Kaiserjäger head studies 1916

Nine head studies of Tyrolean Kaiserjäger composed of four smaller canvas fragments. The head studies with one exception with view from the left, head slightly turned sideways, or in profile view. Two head studies subsequently [...]

read more »

Countess Kitty Schönborn 1916

. Full body larger-than-life portrait in rich room interior (illustrated by a golden brocade curtain, a painting in golden frame and an antique dresser). The portrayed is standing at the dresser, her right arm propped [...]

read more »

Liner Lieutenant Rudolf Singule 1916

Half portrait en face, looking at the viewer with open eyes. Singule wears a black navy uniform, under it a white turtleneck shirt, on the head the black navy cap. On the chest decorations of orders and a medal in the form [...]

read more »

Lovcensaddle Last Serpentine 1916

Mountain landscape in late winter. In the foreground a snow field. In the background, a mountain pass with snow remnants on the north side and a serpentine winding pass road. Colors dominated by gray of the mountains and [...]

read more »

Alfred Fürst Montenuovo 1917

. Half portrait en face, arms slightly bent. The portrayed is depicted with bald head, blond mustache and white, short full beard and in rich golden court uniform. He wears a purple-green shoulder ribbon (of the Grand Cross [...]

read more »

Countess Katinka (Michael) Karolyi 1918

Full-length portrait, half reclining on a chaise longue, supported by a dark brown cushion, her right arm propped on the backrest, playing with her locks of hair, her left hand clasping a string of pearls on her lap, her [...]

read more »

Countess Alice Harrach 1919

Half portrait en face, looking directly at the viewer. The portrayed wears a wide-cut lace dress, over it a fur stole, around her neck a long double-row pearl necklace, which she holds with the fingers of her left hand, as [...]

read more »

Marie Countess Traun 1919

Full-length portrait standing, leaning against a dark brown baroque chest of drawers, supporting herself slightly on it with her right elbow, smiling and looking towards the viewer. She wears a fur-trimmed dark pink coat, [...]

read more »

Comtesse Colloredo 1923

Full-length portrait of girl (aged 10) in open landscape. The sitter is portrayed in a reclining, semi-erect position, legs slightly drawn up, right arm supported on the ground and holding a white and black terrier dog. She [...]

read more »

Marie von Stribirski 1924

Three-quarter portrait in sitting position in profile view. The portrayed, with her black hair pinned up, her hands crossed on her knees, looking into the distance. She wears a black dress with a gold-colored cape as a top, [...]

read more »

Madame de Portas 1925

Full-length portrait en face, standing, her right arm resting on an armchair, her legs placed in front of each other, looking towards the viewer, but not directly at him. She is wearing a red, sleeveless silk dress with a [...]

read more »

Mena Hereditary Princess of Fürstenberg 1927

3/4 quarter portrait in a sitting position, looking to the left into the distance. Chair covered by a blue throw, on it the right arm of the portrayed is resting. In her left arm she holds a white-haired lapdog. Dressed in [...]

read more »

Christine Baroness Fries-Tersch 1929

Three-quarter portrait en face in standing posture, arms crossed in front of her chest, right hand holding left upper arm, gaze turned to her left, not looking at the viewer. Strongly stylized landscape background. The sitter [...]

read more »

Mr Stuart Spaulding Jr 1930

Image description Original: Casual half portrait of a young man with dark hair combed back, leaning against a wall, hands in his trouser pockets. He is wearing a black Club jacket with white piping with a club emblem on the [...]

read more »
Top

John Quincy Adams - Hauptwerke

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Mary Teltscher, Schwester des Künstlers vor 1900

Fast-Ganzkörperporträt in sitzender Stellung, den Betrachter anblickend. Die Dargestellte sitzt auf einem rot-samtenen Sessel mit niedriger, halbrunder Rückenlehne. Sie trägt ein opulentes weißes Seiden-Ballkleid mit [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Alice Hauser 1901

. Drei-viertel Ganzkörperportrait von hinten seitlich links, das Gesicht im seitlichen Profil dargestellt, vor türkisfarbigem, flächigem Hintergrund. Die Dargestellte im schwarzen Kleid mit schwarzen Tafftärmeln und [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Totengebet im Armenhaus von Volendam 1903

Bildbeschreibung: s. unten. Öl auf Leinwand, 198 x 244 cm Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams Volendam 1903 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya Museum Mumbai Sir Dorab Tata Collection 33.38

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Bertha Habig 1905

¾ Portrait in sitzender Stellung, Körper in Front/Seitenansicht, Gesicht in Profilansicht. Die Dargestellte sitzt zur linken Seite gedreht in einem dunkelgrünen Clubfauteuil, die Beine übereinandergeschlagen. Die rechte [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Ein Lebensweg (Triptychon) 1905

Triptychon: Geburt, Abschied, Tod. Bildbeschreibung: s. unten. Öl auf Leinwand 118 x 171 cm (L: 105 x 57, M: 118 x 57, R: 105 x 57 cm) Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams Volendam 905 Galleria Nazionale d´Arte Moderna [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Gretl Urban 1905

Ganzkörperportrait von vorne seitlich, stehend in Wohninterieur dargestellt. Die Portraitierte, die Frisur hochgesteckt, zieht sich einen weissen Abendhandschuh aus Seide an. Sie trägt ein dunkelviolettes Seidenkleid, die [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Gruppenportrait von 5 Kindern 1905

. Bildbeschreibung: s. unten. Öl auf Leinwand 165 x 140 cm Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams 905 Unbekannte Privatsammlung (wohl USA)

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Steffy Adams 1905/06

Ganzkörperportrait en face in sitzender Stellung, die Beine überkreuzt. Rechte Hand auf dem Schoß ruhend, linke Hand auf einer Kommode abgestützt, Kopf leicht geneigt in Richtung Betrachter blickend, mit diesem aber nicht [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Lilly Berger 1907

Ganzkörperportrait stehend, den Kopf leicht geneigt, den Betrachter anblickend. Die Dargestellte ist bis auf einen durchsichtigen, schwarzen Schleier nackt und posiert vor einem reichen Interieur: Marmorkamin mit Dekorationsobjekten [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Marie Hofteufel 1907

Marie Hofteufel als Mabel Chiltern in Oskar Wilde's "Ein idealer Gatte". Ganzkörperportrait von rechts seitlich, stehend vor einem großen Empire-Spiegel, den Kopf leicht geneigt, einen Männchen-machenden Rauhaardackel [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Theo Drill-Oridge 1907

Ganzkörperportrait in stehender, leicht nach recht gedrehter, Haltung, den linken Ellenbogen auf eine hohe Renaissance Kommode gestützt; Kopf leicht gesenkt, den Betracher aber nicht anblickend. Hintergrund ein Wohninterieur [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Der Künstler und seine Familie 1908

Bildbeschreibung s. unten. Öl auf Leinwand 210 x 200 cm Signiert: John Quincy Ɑdams 908 Wien Museum Inv.#78.742 Widmung Gräfin Walderdorff

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Max Friedmann 1908

¾ Portrait in sitzender Stellung. Der Dargestellte sitzt in einem braunen Clubfauteuil, die Beine übereinandergeschlagen, die Hände ineinander gelegt, in der rechten Hand eine Zigarre. Der Körper ist leicht gedreht, der [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

An der Fischwaage Volendam 1909

. Bildbeschreibung s. unten. Öl auf Leinwand 158 x 200 cm Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams 909 Unbekannter Privatbesitz (Österreich?)

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Die Operation 1909

Bildbeschreibung s. unten. Öl auf Leinwand 200 x 200 cm Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams 1909 Universität Wien, Institut für Geschichte der Medizin Josefinum, Bildstandort: Universitätsklinik für Frauenheilkunde, [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Aktstudie am Wolfgangsee 1911

Vollportrait eines schlanken, nackten Modells auf einem Stein am Seeufer stehend. Haare zu einem Knoten hinten aufgesteckt, Oberkörper leicht nach vorne geneigt, eine Decke halb bis zum Oberschenkel heraufziehend. Wasserfläche [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Chaconne Maler Prinz und Harriet Adams 1911

. Bildbeschreibung s. unten. Öl auf Leinwand ca. 230 x 200 cm Signaur: John Quincy Ɑdams Unbekannter Privtbesitz (USA?) Abbild: Reproduktion New York Graphical Society.

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Prinz Adalbert von Preussen 1912

3/4 Portrait stehend en face, den Kopf leicht gedreht in Richtung Betrachter blickend, diesen aber nicht direkt ansehend. Der Dargestellte trägt einen blauen Marineuniform-Frack mit goldenen Lampassen und goldenen Knöpfen, [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Steffy Adams 1912

Ganzkörperportrait in sitzender Stellung auf einem blau-roten Armlehnsessel mit geflochtener Sitzfläche; Beine überkreuzt, die rechte Hand am Kinn abgestützt, die linke auf der Armlehne ruhend. Blau-graues Samtkleid mit [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Kaiser Franz Josef I. 1914

Dreiviertelportrait in sitzender Stellung. Der 84-jährige Kaiser auf einem weiß-rot-goldenen Barocksessel sitzend, die Hände auf den Oberschenkeln ruhend. Er trägt seinen charakteristischen weiß-blonden Backenbart, das [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

General Viktor Dankl mit 2 Offizieren seines Stabes 1915

Dreiviertelportrait des Generals Dankl (mit runder Brille und Schnauzbart), stehend in feldgrauer Uniform, mit Tschako und übergehängtem blauen Mantel. Dahinter zwei Offiziere stehend in seitlicher Dreiviertel-Ansicht. [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Kinder in der Fabrik 1916

Bildbeschreibung s. unten. Öl auf Karton 47 x 65 cm Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams IV 16 Skutari Unbekannter Privatbesitz. Bild: Dorotheum Wien Auktionskatalog 10.12.2007

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Im U-Boot 1916

Ein Matrose in einem K.u.K Unterseeboot. Dieser stehend, nach vorne geneigt, eine Torpedoluke öffnend und in Seitenansicht dargestellt. Weiße Matrosenhose und blau-weiß gestreiftes ärmelloses Matrosenleiberl. Technische [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Kaiser Karl zu Felde 1916

Dreiviertelportrait stehend, den Körper leicht nach links gedreht, den Kopf nach rechts gewandt, in die Ferne blickend. Der Kaiser in feldgrauer Uniform mit Degen, und mehreren Orden (u.a. dem Habsburger Hausorden vom Goldenen [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Kaiserjäger Kopfstudien 1916

Neun Kopfstudien Tiroler Kaiserjäger aus vier kleineren Leinwandfragmenten zusammengesetzt. Die Kopfstudien bis auf eine Ausnahme mit Ansicht von links, Kopf leicht seitlich gedreht, bzw. im Profil. Zwei Kopfstudien nachträglich [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Gräfin Kitty Schönborn 1916

Ganzkörperportrait in Überlebensgröße in reichem Zimmerinterieur (durch goldenen Brokatvorhang, Gemälde im Goldrahmen und antiker Kommode illustriert). Dargestellte an Kommode stehend, den rechten Arm darauf abgestützt. [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Linienschiffsleutnant Rudolf Singule 1916

Halbportrait en face, den Betrachter mit offenem Blick ansehend. Singule trägt eine schwarze Marineuniform, darunter ein weißes Rollkragen-Hemd, am Kopf die schwarze Marinekappe. An der Brust Ordensdekorationen und ein [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Lovcensattel Letzte Serpentine 1916

Gebirgslandschaft im Spätwinter. Im Vordergrund ein Schneefeld. In Hintergrund gebirgige Passhöhe mit Schneeresten an der Nordseite und einer sich in einer Serpentine windende Passtrasse. Farben durch Grau des Gebirges [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Alfred Fürst Montenuovo 1917

. Halbportrait en face, Arme leicht angewinkelt. Der Portraitierte mit kahlem Haupt, blondem Schnurrbart und weißem, kurzen Vollbart in reich goldener Hofuniform dargestellt. Er trägt ein rot-grünes Schulterband (des [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Gräfin Katinka (Michael) Karolyi 1918

Ganzkörperportrait, halb liegend auf einer Chaiselongue, von einem dunkelbraunen Polster gestützt, ihren rechten Arm auf der Lehne abgestützt, mit ihren Haarlocken spielend, die linke Hand auf ihrem Schoß eine Perlenkette [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Gräfin Alice Harrach 1919

Halbportrait en face, den Betrachter direkt anblickend. Die Portraitierte trägt ein weit ausgeschnittenes Spitzenkleid, darüber eine Pelzstola, um den Hals eine lange zweireihige Perlenkette, die sie mit ihrer linken Hand [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Marie Gräfin Traun 1919

Ganzkörperportrait stehend, an eine dunkelbraune Barock-Kommode gelehnt, sich auf dieser mit ihrem rechten Ellenbogen leicht abstützend, lächelnd in Richtung Betrachter blickend. Sie trägt einen pelzverbrämten dunkelrosa [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Alfred Géza von Liechtenstein 1923

. Kopfportrait Ölskizze des 16-jährigen Jünglings. Den Kopf leicht gesenkt, mit den Augen aufblickend, den Betrachter ansehend. Kurzes, einen Scheitel andeutendes Haar. Reduzierte Farbskala in Braun und Ocker-Tönen [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Comtesse Colloredo 1923

Ganzkörper-Mädchenportrait (im Alter von 10 Jahren) in freier Landschaft. Die Dargestellte ist in liegender, halbaufgerichteter Stellung, die Beine leicht angezogen, den rechten Arm am Boden abgestützt und einen weiß-schwarzen [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Marie von Stribirski 1924

Dreiviertelportrait in sitzender Stellung in Seitenansicht. Die Portraitierte, mit hochgesteckten schwarzen Haaren, die Hände auf dem Knien übereinandergelegt, den Blick in die Ferne gerichtet. Sie trägt ein schwarzes [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Madame de Portas 1925

Ganzkörperportrait en face, stehend, ihren rechten Arm an einem Lehnsessel abgestützt, die Beine voreinandergestellt, den Blick zum Betrachter gerichtet, diesen aber nicht direkt anblickend. Sie trägt ein rotes, ärmelloses [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Mena Erbprinzessin zu Fürstenberg 1927

3/4 Viertel Portrait in sitzender Stellung, den Blick nach links in die Ferne gerichtet. Fauteuil durch einen blauen Überwurf bedeckt, darauf der rechte Arm der Portraitierten ruhend. Im linken Arm hält sie einen weißhaarigen [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Christine Baronin Fries-Tersch 1929

Dreiviertelportrait en face in stehender Haltung, die Arme vor der Brust gekreuzt, die rechte Hand den linken Oberarm haltend, Blick nach links gewandt, den Betrachter nicht ansehend. Stark stilisierter Landschaftshintergrund. [...]

weiterlesen
John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Mr Stuart Spaulding Jr 1930

Bildbeschreibung Orginal: Legeres Halbportrait eines jungen Mannes mit dunklen, nach hinten gekämmten Haaren, an einer Wand lehnend, die Hände in den Hosentaschen. Er trägt ein schwarzes, weiβ paspeliertes Club Jacket [...]

weiterlesen
Top