Painter's wife and daughter Gladys 1902

Half portrait of a mother (Adam's wife Stefanie) changing her baby (Adam's daughter Gladys). Mother in side view, facing the baby, holding it in her hands. Hair pinned up, wearing a pink house dress with butterfly motifs, chest and shoulder hem bordered by a pink tulle hem. Baby with short dark hair and sitting naked on a table, held by mother, lower part of body covered by a white diaper. In the background a white closed double door with brass fittings.

Pastel, rondo DM 95 cm
Signature: John Q Ɑdams 902
Private collection Austria.

This intimate mother and child pastel depicts Adam's wife, Stefanie Adams (1881-1952) with their first daughter Gladys (1902-1932) and captures a moment of loving attention from the young mother to her first born baby.

Brief biography of the depicted:
Stefanie Adams: wife of the artist, née Sobotka, 18.9.1881 Vienna to 21.6.1952 Salzburg Aigen. Married 25.3.1901 to John Quincy Adams (marriage separated 1919, divorced 1920). 1921 remarried to Willy von Gutmann (1889-1966), marriage dissolved again before 1924. Residence at Schloss Würting until 1938, then racially persecuted, she survives in Belgium in hiding. After the war she returned to Austria and lived with her daughter Harriet Walderdorff, Salzburg, until her death.
Marion Gladys Adams: first-born daughter of the artist, 7.6.1902 Vienna until 31.7.1932 (tragic death in a car accident). After the divorce of her parents in 1919/1920, she lives with her mother at Schloss Würting, where she redesigns the park. On 10.10.1925 marriage to Karl August Frank (1904-1964), with whom she has two daughters, (Anna Christina) Barbara Frank (1927 Vienna to 1993 USA), and (Auguste) Nina (Verena) Frank (1931 Vienna to 2010 Belgium), who suffers from trisomy 21. On July 31, 1932, Gladys Frank, together with her sister Harriet Adams and an acquaintance, the musicologist Dr. Felix Salzer, went on an excursion from Schloss Würting to the Salzkammergut. The car has an accident due to a tire blowout. Gladys Frank, née Adams, is killed instantly, her sister Harriet and Dr. Salzer survive seriously injured. The orphans are taken care of by the widower and grandmother Stefanie Adams after the accident, but the Frank family has to leave Austria with the children in 1938 because of racial persecution. For further biographical details see the entry "The family of the artists".

Cross-references

Family portrait 1908

Exhibited

1903 Künsterhaus Vienna (EL 46 1903 #343 as Malers Frau und Kind).
1904/05 Künsterhaus Vienna (EL 48 1904/05 #679 as Gladys).
1986 Academy Schillerplatz Vienna 1986, Viennese Society in Portrait, Catalog No. 6.

Literature

Schaffer/Eisenburger 1986, exhibition catalog #6 (w. color ill.).

APH, catalog raisonné JQA 1995, p. 44, cat.#13, fig.#7.

Provenance

Estate of the artist.
August and Hedwig Frank (widower of Gladys Frank, née Adams, and his 2nd wife). Family descendants from first marriage of Hedwig Frank. Private collection Austria.

Top

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Malers Frau und Tochter Gladys 1902

Halbportrait einer Mutter (Adams Frau Stefanie), die ihr Baby (Adams Tochter Gladys) wickelt. Mutter in Seitenansicht, dem Baby zugeneigt, dieses in ihren Händen haltend. Haare aufgesteckt, in einem rosa Hauskleid mit Schmetterlingsmotiven, Brust und Schultersaum von einem rosa Tüllsaum eingefasst. Baby mit kurzen dunklem Haar und nackt auf einem Tisch sitzend, von der Mutter gehalten, untere Körperpartie durch eine weiße Windel verdeckt. Im Hintergrund eine weiße geschlossene Doppeltüre mit Messingbeschlägen.

Pastell, Rondo DM 95 cm
John Q Ɑdams 902
Privatbesitz Österreich.

Dieses intime Mutter-Kind Pastell stellt Adams Frau, Stefanie Adams (1881-1952) mit ihrer ersten Tochter Gladys (1902-1932) dar und fängt einen Moment liebevoller Zuwendung der jungen Mutter zu ihrem erstgeborenen Baby ein.

Kurzbiographie der Personen:
Stefanie Adams: Gattin des Künstlers, geb. Sobotka, 18.9.1881 Wien bis 21.6.1952 Salzburg Aigen. Heirat 25.3.1901 mit John Quincy Adams (Ehe 1919 getrennt, 1920 geschieden). 1921 Wiederverheiratung mit Willy von Gutmann (1889-1966), Ehe vor 1924 wieder aufgelöst. Bis 1938 Wohnsitz auf Schloss Würting, danach rassisch verfolgt, überlebt sie in Belgien im Untergund. Nach dem Krieg Rückkehr nach Österreich und Wohnsitz bis zum Tode bei ihrer Tochter Harriet Walderdorff, Salzburg.
Marion Gladys Adams: erstgeborene Tochter der Künstlers, 7.6.1902 Wien bis 31.7.1932 (tragischer Tod durch Autounfall). Lebt nach der Scheidung der Eltern 1919/1920 bei der Mutter auf Schloss Würting, wo sie den Schlosspark gärtnerisch neu gestaltet. Am 10.10.1925 Heirat mit Karl August Frank (1904-1964), mit dem sie zwei Töchter hat, (Anna Christina) Barbara Frank (1927 Wien bis 1993 USA), sowie (Auguste) Nina (Verena) Frank (1931 Wien bis 2010 Belgien), die an Trisomie 21 leidet. Am 31.7.1932 unternimmt Gladys Frank gemeinsam mit ihrer Schwester Harriet Adams und einem Bekannten, dem Musikwissenschafter Dr. Felix Salzer, einem Ausflug von Schloss Würting ins Salzkammergut. Das Auto verunglückt durch einen Reifenplatzer. Gladys Frank, geb. Adams, ist sofort tot, die Schwester Harriet und Dr. Salzer überleben schwerverletzt. Die Waisenkinder werden nach dem Unglück vom Witwer und der Grossmutter Stefanie Adams betreut, doch die Famile Frank muss 1938 mit den Kindern wg. rassischer Verfolgung Österreich verlassen.
Weitere Biographische Details s. Eintrag „Die Famile der Künstlers“.

Querverweise

Familienbildnis 1908

Ausgestellt

1903 Künsterhaus Wien (EL 46 1903 #343 als Malers Frau und Kind).
1904/05 Künsterhaus Wien (EL 48 1904/05 #679 als Gladys).
1986 Akademie Schillerplatz Wien 1986, Wiener Gesellschaft im Portrait, Katalog Nr. 6.

Literatur

APH, Werksverzeichnis JQA 1995, S. 44, Kat.#13, Abb.#7.

Schaffer/Eisenburger 1986, Ausstellungskatalog #6 (m. Farbabb.).

Provenienz

Nachlass des Künstlers.
An August und Hedwig Frank (Witwer von Gladys Frank, geb. Adams, und seiner 2. Frau).
Familiennachkommen aus erster Ehe Hedwig Frank.
Privatbesitz Österreich.

Top