Moritz Sobotka 1913

.

Half-length portrait, upper part of the body slightly turned, head tilted to the left, looking at the viewer. The sitter with blond-white moustache and monocle in his left eye wears a brown two-row traditional suit with green lapels and on his head a hat with a small chamois beard.

Original lost.
Contemporary color print reproduction 40 x 38 cm
Signature: JQ (intertwined) Ɑdams
Private collection, USA

Moritz Sobotka 22.10.1843 Dobkau/Dobkov (Chotěboř, CZ) to 20.11.1918 Vienna. Self-made industrialist and father-in-law of the artist.
Moritz was born the son of Valentin Franz S. (1810-1892), who operated a leased distillery he took over from his father in law. At the age of 14 he went to Vienna to attend a commercial school. (Two of his brothers followed him to Vienna, Gustav S. [1845-1919, chemist who emigrated to the United States], and Ignatz S. [1853-1909, physician, married to the daughter of Moritz’ partner Jacob Hauser and in close contact with Moritz's family and also a collector of Adam's works].) Moritz started his career as a clerk for the grain merchant Josef Heller and then in the alcohol and yeast factory of Baron Gustav von Springer, one of the most successful Jewish industrialists in Vienna. In 1869 he married the daughter of the malt merchant Leopold Brum - Sofie Brum/Sobotka (1851-1930); the couple had nine children. Their daughter Stefanie (1881-1952) married the painter John Quincy Adams (1873-1933) in 1901.

Together with his brother-in-law Jacob Hauser (1839-1915, who had married Sofie's sister Johanna/Hanna), he was a partner in his father-in-law's company, which they took over in 1884 and, with the financial support of Baron Springer, founded the Erste Wiener Export Malz Fabrik Gesellschaft Hauser & Sobotka in 1885 and built a modern malt factory in the Stadlau neighborhood of Vienna. Its main customers were beer breweries. The company, which remained under the ownership and management of the Hauser and Sobotka families until its Aryanization in 1938 (it still exists today under the name STAMAG Stadlauer Malzfabrik Aktiengesellschaft, cf. the Adams beer poster with illustrations of the factories in the cross-references) grew into a successful large-scale enterprise and made the company founders very wealthy (Sandgruber, 2013 lists both Moritz Sobotka and Jacob Hauser among the 500-richest Viennese men and women by income tax in 1910 [income about 150,000 crowns each]). By World War I, the company had grown to become the largest malt factory in Europe and diversified its product range (including also malt coffee, baker's malt extract [for bread and pastry production], Hoff malt extract, and the Ovomaltine beverage still known today) as well as its export markets, with subsidiaries in Germany (1902), England (1905), the USA (1906), Italy (1909), and France (1911).

In 1904, Moritz S. acquired the approximately 200-hectare Bürglgut on the shores of Lake Wofgang (municipality of Strobl), where he spent most of the year after his 60th birthday and moved from operational management to supervisory functions at the Stadlau malt factory. His succession was assured after the marriage of his daughter Alice (1873-1963, see her Adams portrait) to Alfred Hauser (1870-1948), the son of his partner Jacob, and by the entry into the company of his sons Hanns (1877-1947) and Felix (1878-1934), and later also Valentin (1896-1988). The Bürglgut became the center of family life for the extended family. In the various villas of the estate, up to 40 guests were accommodated during the summer months. (The management of such a large household, with up to 10 servants, was in the expert hands of Sofie, from whom her granddaughter Harriet Adams/Walderdorff later took many ideas to run the Goldener Hirschen in Salzburg, which she had founded). Moritz, on the other hand, was involved in local politics, charitable work, and the development of rural infrastructure (water pipeline, recruitment of a doctor for Strobl), for which he was made an honorary citizen by the communities of Strobl as well as St. Wolfgang. In his Adams portrait he is depicted in the habitus of a landed nobleman with (fashionable) monocle and hunting clothes (Styrian attire, although he did not hunt nor owned a gun). Moritz Sobotka died in November 1918 and thus did not have to witness the end of the monarchy and the "age of security" (Stefan Zweig). His youngest son had to sell half of the Bürglgut in 1929 after economic difficulties of the post-war period and hyperinflation. After Sofie's death, the rest was also sold in 1930. The new owner, the Prague industrialist (coal) Hans Petschek (1895-1968) was the son-in-law of Moritz's daughter Gabriele Epler, née Sobotka (1871-1959). After Aryanization and use by Nazi bigwigs, the property was restituted to Hans Petschek in 1948 and used as a refugee home. Hans Petschek sold the property to the Republic of Austria in 1955 with the condition that it be used for educational and peace-promoting purposes. Today it serves as an educational facility and hosts the University of Vienna's international summer college.

The original portrait of Moritz Sobotka, dated 1913, is lost. It likely disappeared after 1938 due to the racial persecution of the extended Sobotka family and the emigration of almost all family members. However, a contemporary color reproduction has survived in the family's possession, which was probably produced in about 1913 as a souvenir for the numerous family members of the extended family. Two other portraits of Moritz (reproduction?) and Sofie (original, possibly reduced in size) Sobotka from 1905 have also survived in the family's possession, although they are not signed. An attribution of these 1905 portraits to Adams is not very plausible due to the missing signature and also stylistic reasons, which is why these portraits only appear in the cross-references, but not in the catalog raisonné.

Biographical information: Roman Sandgruber, 2013, Dreamtime for Billionaires, Styria (in German); and Valtentin Sobotka, 1980, Ways and Issues Retraced, self-published, Berkeley, USA. Genealogical information: kind communication from Mark Petschek, USA.

Exhibited

Literature

Provenance

1913-1938? Sobotka family Strobl and Vienna,
Original lost.
Contemporary color reproduction, owned by
family descendants,
private collection USA.

Top

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Moritz Sobotka 1913

.

Brustportrait, Oberkörper leicht gedreht, Kopf nach links geneigt, den Betrachter ansehend. Der Dargestellte mit blond-weissem Schnauzbart und Monokel in seinem linken Auge, trägt einen braunen zwei-reihigen Trachtenanzug mit grünen Aufschlägen und am Kopf einen Hut mit kleinem Gamsbart.

Original verschollen.
Zeitgenössische Farbdruck-Reproduktion 40 x 38 cm
Signatur: ф (J Q verschlungen) Ɑdams
Privatbesitz USA

Moritz Sobotka 22.10.1843 Dobkau/Dobkov (Chotěboř, CZ) bis 20.11.1918 Wien. Self-made Großindustrieller und Schwiegervater des Künstlers.
Moritz wurde als Sohn des Valentin Franz S. (1810-1892), der eine gepachtete Branntweinproduktion betrieb, die er von seinem Schwiegervater übernahm,von der Grundherrschaft gepachtet hatte, geboren. Als 14-jähriger ging er nach Wien, um eine Handelsschule zu besuchen. (Zwei seiner Brüder folgten ihm nach Wien: Gustav S. [1845-1919, Chemiker, der in die USA auswanderte], sowie Ignatz S. [1853-1909, Arzt, verehelicht mit der Tochter von Moritz‘ Partner Jacob Hauser, im engen Kontakt zu Moritz‘ Familie und auch Sammler von Adams Werken]). Seinen Berufseinstieg absolvierte Moritz als Angestellter bei dem Getreidehändler Josef Heller und danach in der Spiritus-Fabrik des Barons Gustav von Springer, einem der erfolgreichsten jüdischen Industriellen Wiens. 1869 heiratete der die Tochter des Malzhändlers Leopold Brum Sofie Brum/Sobotka (1851-1930), das Ehepaar hatte neun Kinder. Die Tochter Stefanie (1881-1952) heiratete 1901 den Maler John Quincy Adams (1873-1933).

Zusammen mit seinem Schwager Jacob Hauser (1839-1915, der Sofies Schwester Johanna/Hanna geheiratet hatte), war er Partner in der Firma seines Schwiegervaters, die diese 1884 übernahmen und mit finanzieller Unterstützung von Baron Springer 1885 die Erste Wiener Export Malz Fabrik Gesellschaft Hauser & Sobotka gründeten und eine moderne Malz-Fabrik in Wien Stadlau erbauten. Hauptkunden waren Bierbrauereien. Die Firma, die bis zur Arisierung 1938 im Besitz und unter Management der Familien Hauser und Sobotka verblieb (und auch heute noch unter dem Namen STAMAG Stadlauer Malzfabrik Aktiengesellschaft weiter besteht, s. das Adams Bierplakat mit den Abbildungen der Fabriken in den Querverweisen) wuchs zu einem erfolgreichen Großunternehmen heran und machte die Firmengründer sehr wohlhabend (Sandgruber, 2013 listet sowohl Moritz Sobotka als auch Jacob Hauser zu den nach Einkommensteuer 500-reichsten Wienern und Wienerinnen im Jahre 1910 [Einkommen jeweils rund 150,000 Kronen]). Die Firma wuchs bis zum Ersten Weltkrieg zur größten Malzfabrik Europas und diversifizierte in Produktsortiment (Malzkaffee, Backmalzextrakt [für die Brot- und Gebäckerzeugung], Hoff Malzextrakt sowie das auch heute noch bekannte Ovomaltine Getränk) sowie in seinen Exportmärkten mit Niederlassungen in Deutschland (1902), England (1905), USA (1906), Italien (1909) sowie Frankreich (1911).

1904 erwarb Moritz S. das rund 200 ha große Bürglgut am Ufer des Wofgangsees (Gemeinde Strobl), in dem er nach seinem 60. Geburtstag den Großteil des Jahres verbrachte und in der Stadlauer Malzfabrik vom operativen Management in Aufsichtsfunktionen wechselte. Die Nachfolge war nach der Heirat der Tochter Alice (1873-1963, s. deren Adams Portrait) mit Alfred Hauser (1870-1948), dem Sohn seines Partners Jacob, sowie durch den Firmeneintritt seiner Söhne Hanns (1877-1947) und Felix (1878-1934) und später auch Valentin (1896-1988) gesichert. Das Bürglgut wurde zum Zentrum des Familienlebens der Großfamilie. In den verschiedenen Villen des Besitzes wurden in den Sommermonaten bis zu 40 Gäste beherbergt. (Die Führung eines solch großen Haushaltes mit bis zu 10 Dienstboten lag in den kundigen Händen von Sofie von der ihre Enkelin Harriet Adams/Walderdorff später viele Ideen zur Führung des von ihr gegründeten Goldenen Hirschen in Salzburg aufnahm.) Moritz hingegen engagierte sich in der Lokalpolitik, karitativ, sowie bei der Entwicklung der ländlichen Infrastruktur (Wasserleitung, Rekrutierung eines Arztes für Strobl), wofür der von den Gemeinden Strobl wie auch St. Wolfgang zum Ehrenbürger ernannt wurde. In seinem Adams Portrait wird er im Habitus eines Landadeligen mit (modischem) Monokel und Jagdkleidung (Steireranzug, obwohl er nicht jagte und auch keine Waffe besaß) dargestellt. Moritz Sobotka starb im November 1918 und musste so das Ende der Monarchie und des „Zeitalters der Sicherheit“ (Stefan Zweig) nicht mehr miterleben. Sein jüngster Sohn musste nach wirtschaftlichen Schwierigkeiten der Nachkriegszeit und der Hyperinflation das Bürglgut 1929 zur Hälfte verkaufen. Nach dem Tode Sofies wurde auch der Rest 1930 verkauft. Der neue Besitzer, der Prager Großindustrielle (Kohle) Hans Petschek (1895-1968) war der Schwiegersohn von Moritz Tochter Gabriele Sobotka, verh. Epler (1871-1959). Nach Arisierung und Nutzung durch Nazi-Bonzen wurde der Besitz 1948 an Hans Petschek restituiert und als Flüchtlingsheim verwendet. Hans Petschek verkaufte das Anwesen 1955 an die Republik Österreich mit der Auflage einer Nutzung zu Bildungs- und friedensfördernden Zwecken. Es dient heute als Bildungsheim und Sitz der Sommerhochschule der Universität Wien.

Das mit 1913 datierte Portrait des Moritz Sobotka ist im Original verschollen. Es ging wohl nach 1938 aufgrund der rassischen Verfolgung der erweiterten Familie Sobotka und der Emigration fast aller Familienmitglieder verloren. Allerdings hat sich eine zeitgenössische Farbbild-Reproduktion im Familenbesitz erhalten, die wohl als Andenken für die zahlreichen Familienmitglieder der Großfamilie zeitnah zu 1913 produziert wurde. Im Familienbesitz haben sich ferner zwei weitere Portraits von Moritz (Reproduktion?) und Sofie (Original, möglicherweise verkleinert) Sobotka aus 1905 erhalten, die allerdings nicht signiert sind. Eine Zuschreibung dieser 1905 Portraits zu Adams ist aufgrund der fehlenden Signatur und auch stilistischer Gründe wenig plausibel, weswegen diese Portraits lediglich in den Querverweisen, aber nicht im Werkskatalog aufscheinen.

Biographische Informationen: Roman Sandgruber, 2013, Traumzeit für Milliardäre, Styria; und Valtentin Sobotka, 1980, Ways and Issues Retraced, Eigenverlag, Berkeley, USA. Genealogische Informationen: freundliche Mitteilung von Mark Petschek, USA.

Ausgestellt

Literatur

Provenienz

1913-1938? Famile Sobotka Strobl und Wien,
Orginal verschollen.
Zeitgenössische Farbreproduktion, Besitz der
Familiennachkommen,
Privatbesitz USA.

Top