Max Friedmann 1908

¾ Portrait in a sitting position. The sitter is seated in a brown club chair, legs crossed, hands clasped together, a cigar in his right hand. The body is slightly turned, the head facing the viewer, looking directly at him. He has short hair and a moustache and is dressed in a brown three-piece suit with a white shirt with a stand-up collar and a brown-red tie. He wears a gold wedding ring and gold cufflinks. Beside the armchair a side table is shown, on it a lamp, opened books, as well as an oval portrait miniature in a rectangular frame. The background is represented only by brown brush-stroke structured walls and two indicated pictures.

Oil on canvas 98 x 112 cm.
Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams.
Private collection Austria.

Max(imilian) Friedmann 14.04.1864 Reschitza/Resiczabánya/Reşiţa (RO) to 23.08.1936 Bad Ischl; industrialist and member of parliament. See his biography at the Austrian Parliament.
Born in Banat (present-day Romania), Max Friedmann went to school at the Akademisches Gymnasium in Vienna and then studied at the Vienna University of Technology until 1885. At the age of 18, following the death of his father in 1882, he joined the machine factory founded by his father, the inventor Alexander Friedmann, as a partner, which he later managed together with his brother Ludwig (Louis). A special pioneering act of the Friedmann factory was the production (1904 to 1910) of a steam-driven automobile (design engineer: Richard Knoller), which, however, did not succeed on the market. (A specimen of the Friedmann-Koller steam car is preserved in the Vienna Technical Museum).

The interest in the novel innovation automobile, as well as the art interests of the Friedmann brothers may have led to the acquaintance between Max Friedmann and John Quincy Adams, who was equally an early automobile enthusiast. The second connection to Max Friedmann is through fencing. Both Max and Louis Friedmann were active fencers, a sport that Adams himself exercised at a high level. As a fencer Max Friedmann was masterful (his brother Louis and his wife were above all internationally recognized alpinists). The intensity of Max Friedmann's involvement in fencing is also evident from two incidents: In 1889, he caused a fatal sporting accident when his epee penetrated the grille of his opponent's helmet into his eye, killing him (Arnbom 2002, p. 116); in 1909, in turn, he was convicted (but promptly pardoned) when he assisted as a second in an (illegal) saber duel (Illustrierte Kronenzeitung 28. Mail 1909, pp.12-13). Fencing was therefore more than a sport around 1900.

In addition to his function as factory owner and manager, Max Friedmann was also involved in representing the interests of industry (1909-1914 vice president of the Austrian Federation of Industrialists), as well as politically. From 1911 to 1918 he was a member of the Reichsrat, from 1918 to 1919 a member of the provisional, and from 1919 to 1920 a member of the constituent National Assembly of the parliament of the new Austrian Republic.

In 1894 Max Friedmann married Johanna, née Mihanović von Frankenhardt (1868-1942), the marriage was blessed with two daughters (Hanni and Ali). Adams made portraits of all members of the family (see cross-references, although the portrait of Johanna Friedmann has so far not been identified or located). The Friedmann brothers were very interested in art and commissioned works from members of the Vienna Künstlerhaus (like Adams) as well as from the Secession, which had split off from it (like Gustav Klimt). Gustav Klimt's portrait of alpinist Rosalie Rosthorn-Friedmann, the wife of Louis Friedmann (Lady in Black 1900/1901), is well known. In addition to the portrait commissions to the Künstlerhaus member Adams, Max Friedmann awarded the completion and interior decoration of summer villa in Vienna Hinterbrühl to the builder of the Vienna Secession Josef Maria Olbrich, yielding a Jugendstil icon, now perfectly restored by the present owner. In 1919, Max Friedmann sold the Olbrich villa to save the factory, which was in economic turmoil after the war, and to be able to pay the workers' wages (his brother Luis did the same with his neighboring summer villa), an example of the social attitude of the Friedmann brothers (Arnbom, 2002, p.160).
In 1928 Max Friedmann suffered a cerebral stroke and died after a long illness in 1936 in the hospital of Bad Ischl. His is buried in the family grave in the Hiezing cemetery, Vienna.

The portrait Max Friedmann is one of the most attractive male portraits by Adams. The 44-year-old is depicted as an attractive man with the typical attributes of male portraits (books, cigar) and in a color scheme that is only in shades of brown, which adds to its special appeal and points to postwar portraits by Adams. Similarities to the 1905 portrait of Berta Habig or the portrait of Alice Harrach from 1919 are evident and testify to the special artistic aspiration that Adams realized with this portrait, which probably suggests closeness, possibly friendship, among the fencing sport colleagues. In contrast, the portrait of the two daughters Ali and Hanni Friedmann, also from 1908, is more conventional, even if it also follows a similar Rembrandesque brown tones color scheme. From a literature source (Neues Wr. Tagblatt 25.3.1908 Kunstwanderungen, p. 11) a portrait of Mrs. Friedmann (probably Johanna F.) is also documented and a stylistic comparison would be informative. Unfortunately, this portrait has to date neither been documented or located. It is a fact that none of the three Friedmann portraits was exhibited in the Vienna Künstlerhaus. The proximity to artists of the Sezession may have prevented the Friedmann family from exhibiting their portraits in the Künstlerhaus, which was considered conservative. An exhibition of a portrait represented a considerable social prestige for the portrayed, which the Friedmann family renounced in this case. The portraits of Max Friedmann as well as that of his two daughters were first united again at the 1986 Adams Exhibition at the Akademie Schillerplatz Vienna.

Exhibited

1986 Academy Schillerplatz Vienna, Viennese Society in Portrait, Catalog #19.

Literature

Schaffer/Eisenburger 1986, Austellungskatalog #19 (w. color plate)

APH, Werksverzeichnis JQA 1995, S. 85, Kat.#54, Abb.#39.

Marie Theres Arnbom, Friedmann, Gutmann, Lieben, Mandl und Strakosch - Fünf Familienporträts aus Wien vor 1938, Böhlau Wien, 2002.

Provenance

Sitter.
His family descendants.
Private collection Austria.

Top

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Max Friedmann 1908

¾ Portrait in sitzender Stellung. Der Dargestellte sitzt in einem braunen Clubfauteuil, die Beine übereinandergeschlagen, die Hände ineinander gelegt, in der rechten Hand eine Zigarre. Der Körper ist leicht gedreht, der Kopf dem Betrachter zugewandt, diesen direkt anblickend. Er hat kurze Haare und einen Schnauzbart und ist in einem brauen, dreiteiligen Anzug mit weißem Hemd mit Stehkragen sowie einer braun-roten Krawatte gekleidet. Er trägt einen goldenen Ehering und goldene Manschettenknöpfe. Neben dem Sessel ein Beistelltisch, daruf eine Lampe, aufgeschlagene Bücher, sowie eine ovale Portraitminiatur in rechteckigem Rahmen. Hintergrund ist lediglich durch eine braune Wand und zwei angedeutete Bilder dargestellt.

Öl auf Leinwand 98 x 112 cm.
Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams.
Privatbesitz Österreich.

Max(imilian) Friedmann 14.04.1864 Reschitza/Resiczabánya/Reşiţa (RO) bis 23.08.1936 Bad Ischl, Industrieller und Parlamentsabgeordneter. Der im Banat (heutiges Rumänien) geborene Max Friedmann ging im Akademischen Gymnasium Wien zur Schule und studierte danach bis 1885 an der Technischen Hochschule Wien. Bereits mit 18 Jahren trat er nach dem Tode des Vaters (1882) als Gesellschafter in die von seinem Vater, dem Erfinder Alexander Friedmann gegründete Maschinenfabrik ein, die er später gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder Ludwig (Louis) leitete. Eine besondere Pioniertat der Friedmann Fabrik war die Erzeugung (1904 bis 1910) eines mit Dampf betriebenen Automobils (Entwickler: Richard Knoller), das sich aber nicht am Markt durchsetzte. (Ein Exemplar des Friedmann-Koller Wagens ist im Technischen Museum Wien erhalten).

Das Interesse an der neuartigen Innovation Automobil sowie das Kunstinteresse der Brüder Friedmann dürfte zur Bekanntschaft zwischen Max Friedmann und John Quincy Adams, der ebenso früh automobilbegeistert war, geführt haben. Die zweite Verbindung zu Max Friedmann führt über den Fechtsport. Sowohl Max wie Louis Friedmann waren aktive Fechter, einen Sport den Adams selbst auf hohem Niveau betrieb. Als Fechter war Max Friedmann meisterlich (sein Bruder Louis und dessen Frau waren vor allem international anerkannte Alpinisten.) Wie intensiv Max Friedmann sich mit dem Fechtsport beschäftigte wird auch aus zwei Vorfällen sichtbar: 1889 verursachte er einen tödlchen Sportunfall als sein Degen durch das Gitter des Schutzhelms seines Gegners in dessen Auge durchdrang und diesen tötete (Arnbom 2002, S. 116); 1909 wiederum wird er gerichtlich verurteilt (aber umgehend begnadigt) als er als Sekundant einem (illegalen) Säbel-Duell assistierte (Illustrierte Kronenzeitung 28. Mail 1909, S.12-13). Fechten war also um 1900 mehr als ein Sport.

Neben seiner Funktion als Fabriksbesitzer und Leiter engagierte sich Max Friedmann auch in der Interessenvertretung der Industrie (1909-1914 Vizepräsident des österr. Industriellenbundes), sowie politisch. 1911-1918 war er Reichsratsabgeordneter, 1918-1919 Mitglied der provisorischen, und 1919-1920 Mitglied der konstituierenden Nationalversammlung des Parlamentes der neuen Republik Österreich.

1894 verehelichte sich Max Friedmann mit Johanna, geb. Mihanović von Frankenhardt (1868-1942), der Ehe entsprangen zwei Töchter (Hanni und Ali). Adams hat alle Mitglieder der Familie portraitiert (s. Querverweise, wobei das Portrait Johanna Friedmann bislang verschollen ist). Die Brüder Friedmann waren sehr kunstinteressiert und bedachten sowohl Mitglieder der Wiener Künstlerhauses (wie Adams) als auch der von ihm abgespaltenen Sezession (wie Gustav Klimt) mit Aufträgen. Bekannt ist Gustav Klimts Portrait der Alpinistin Rosalie Rosthorn-Friedmann, der Gattin von Louis Friedmann (Dame in Schwarz 1900/1901). Neben den Portraitaufträgen an das Künstlerhausmitglied Adams vergab Max Friedmann die Fertigstellung und die Inneneinrichtung seiner Sommer-Villa in Wien Hinterbrühl an der Erbauer der Wiener Sezession Josef Maria Olbrich ein Auftrag, der eine wahre Jugendstil Ikone produzierte, die vom jetzigen Besitzer liebevoll wiederhergestellt wurde. 1919 verkaufte Max Friedmann die Olbrich Villa um die nach dem Kriege in wirtschaftliche Turbulenzen geratene Fabrik zu retten und um die Löhne der Arbeiter auszahlen zu können (sein Bruder Luis tat dasgleiche mit seiner benachtbarten Sommer-Villa), ein Beispiel der sozialen Einstellung der Brüder Friedmann (Arnbom, 2002, S.160). 1928 erleidet Max Friedmann einen Gehirnschlag und stirbt nach langer Krankheit 1936 im Krankenhaus von Bad Ischl. Grablege im Familiengrab Friedhof Hiezing, Wien.

Das Portrait Max Friedmann ist eines der attraktivsten Männerportraits von Adams. Der 44-Jährige wird als attraktiver Mann mit den typischen Attributen von Männerportraits (Bücher, Zigarre) und in einem nur in Brauntönen gehaltenen Farbschema dargestellt, was seinen besonderen Reiz ausmacht und auf Nachkriegsportraits von Adams hinweist. Pendants zum 1905 Portrait von Berta Habig oder dem Portrait Alice Harrach aus 1919 sind evident und bezeugen den besonderen künstlerischen Anspruch, den Adams mit diesem Portrait verwirklicht hat, was wohl Zeugnis einer besonderen Nähe, evtl. Freundschaft unter Fechtsportkollegen nahelegt. Demgegenüber ist das Portrait der zwei Töchter Ali und Hanni Friedmann ebenso aus 1908 eher konventionell, auch wenn es ebenso dem Rembrandesquen Brauntönen Farbschema folgt. Aus einer Literaturquelle (Neues Wr. Tagblatt 25.3.1908 Kunstwanderungen, S.11) ist ebenso ein Portrait von Frau Friedmann (wohl Johanna F.) belegt und ein stilistischer Vergleich wäre aufschlussreich. Leider ist dieses Bildnis bislang verschollen. Es ist bmkw. daß keines der drei Friedmann Portraits im Wiener Künstlerhaus ausgestellt war. Die Nähe zu Künstlern der Sezession hat evtl. die Familie Friedmann abgehalten, ihre Portraits zur Ausstellung im doch als konservativ geltenden Künstlerhaus zur Verfügung zu stellen. Eine Ausstellung eines Portraits stellte für die Dargestellten doch ein erhebliches soziales Prestige dar, auf das die Familie Friedmann in diesem Falle verzichtete. Das Bildnis Max Friedmanns sowie das seiner zwei Töchter wurden 1986 bei der Adams Ausstellung in der Akademie Schillerplatz erstmals wieder vereint.

Ausgestellt

1986 Academy Schillerplatz Vienna, Viennese Society in Portrait, Catalog #19.

Literatur

Schaffer/Eisenburger 1986, Ausstellungskatalog #19 (w. color plate)

APH, Werksverzeichnis JQA 1995, S. 85, Kat.#54, Abb.#39.

Marie Theres Arnbom, Friedmann, Gutmann, Lieben, Mandl und Strakosch - Fünf Familienporträts aus Wien vor 1938, Böhlau Wien, 2002.

Provenienz

Der Dargestellte.
Dessen Familiennachkommen.
Privatbesitz Österrreich.

Top