Madame de Portas 1925

Full-length portrait en face, standing, her right arm resting on an armchair, her legs placed in front of each other, looking towards the viewer, but not directly at him. She is wearing a red, sleeveless silk dress with a v-shaped neckline. The dark hair is short or tied at the back of the head, on the ears large gold earrings. Background: stylized vast landscape in brown tones, above it a gray sky.

Oil on canvas 200 x 124 cm
Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams
Unknown private collection.

Margarethe de Portas, née Weiß (Weiss), remarried Brünner, 13.8.1902 Vienna to ?? (date of death unknown, but after July 1986).
Born as daughter of Adolfo Weiß (Adolf Weiss) (1874 Vienna - 1956 Lisbon), Portuguese Consul General in Vienna and Ellen W., née Wurmser (1876 Mannheim - ??). On 29.5.1923 marriage to the Portuguese banker Carlos Fabeiro de Portas, divorce date unknown. Remarried to Alexander Ferdinand Karl Brünner (1883-1974), probably after 1930. Alexander Brünner was married in his first marriage to Martha Beatrix B., née Burian, whom Adams portrayed twice (1905 and 1923). Racially persecuted, the couple emigrated to England in 1938 (residing in London until at least 1957). Margarethe Brünner returned to Vienna at an unknown date and lived in an apartment in the 13th district. In 1986, the 84-year-old attended the opening of the Adams exhibition at the Akademie Schillerplatz and also gave a television interview. After that, her traces disappear.

The portrait of Madame de Portas, which Adams painted in 1925 on his own initiative and at his own expense, is undoubtedly one of his major works and captivates with its Rembrandesque muted coloring as well as the sitter's southern charm and cool elegance. (The sitter gave an explanation for this in a 1986 television interview: He [Adams] "courted me and he ‘chatted’ so many things that I didn't like," which is why she coolly directed her gaze into the distance). The painting caused a sensation at the 1925 exhibition at the Künstlerhaus Vienna and was much discussed and also published several times in newspapers and magazines. (Originally called "The Spanish Woman", the identity of the portrayed as a Viennese and daughter of the Portuguese Consul General Adolf Weiß was only later corrected, Die Stunde 25.6.1925 p.6). It received the People's Prize, i.e. was chosen by democratic vote among the visitors of the 1925 Künstlerhaus exhibition as the best work exhibited.

The painting remained in the possession of Adams, who must have appreciated it very much, because it was the only painting he sent to Pittsburgh in 1927 for an exhibition at the Carnegie Institute, Dessauer, 1927, p.17). It passed from his estate to his son-in-law and the stepmother of his two granddaughters, with whom it remained until 1986. After the Adams exhibition, it was put up for auction at Sothebys in London (auction 2.10.1996 lot 178) to pay the care costs of Adam's granddaughter Nina, who survived in hiding in Belgium during the war (because of her trisomy 21 disorder and her Jewish mother she was doubly endangered) and remained there in good care until her death in 2010 (Elizabeth Baum-Breuer, Institute for Jewish History of Austria, 2019 edition, p. 79). (The family proceeded similarly with another of Adam's major works, Countess Karolyi, which was put up for auction at Christies London in 1987.) As usual at auctions, the purchaser of the portrait is unknown.
.

Exhibited

1925 Künstlerhaus Vienna (EL Vol.74 #3126).
1927 Carnegie Institute Pittsburgh, USA.
1986 Academy Schillerplatz Vienna 1986, Viennese Society in Portrait, Catalog No. 53.

Literature

Schaffer/Eisenburger 1986, exhibition catalog #53 (w. color ill.)

APH, catalog raisonné JQA 1995, p. 195, cat.#162, ill.#107.

Provenance

Estate of the artist.
Until 1996 Frank family (relatives of the artist), Vienna.
Auction Sothebys London 2.10.1996 Lot 178.
Unknown private collection.

Top

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Madame de Portas 1925

Ganzkörperportrait en face, stehend, ihren rechten Arm an einem Lehnsessel abgestützt, die Beine voreinandergestellt, den Blick zum Betrachter gerichtet, diesen aber nicht direkt anblickend. Sie trägt ein rotes, ärmelloses Seidenkleid mit v-förmigen Ausschnitt. Die dunklen Haare sind kurz oder am Hinterkopf zusammengebunden, an den Ohren große Gold-Ohrringe. Hintergrund: stilisierte weite Landschaft in Brauntönen, darüber ein grauer Himmel.

JQAW# P_1925_010
Öl auf Leinwand, 200 x 124 cm.
Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams
Unbekannter Privatbesitz.

Margarethe de Portas, geb. Weiß (Weiss), wiederverh. Brünner, 13.8.1902 Wien bis ?? (Sterbedatum unbekannt, aber nach Juli 1986).
Geboren als Tochter des Adolfo Weiss (Adolf Weiß) (1874 Wien – 1956 Lissabon), Portugiesischer Generalkonsul in Wien und der Ellen W., geb. Wurmser (1876 Mannheim - ??). Am 29.5.1923 Heirat mit dem portugiesischen Bankier Carlos Fabeiro de Portas, Scheidungsdatum unbekannt. Wiederverheiratung mit Alexander Ferdinand Karl Brünner (1883-1974), wohl nach 1930. Alexander Brünner war in erster Ehe mit Martha Beatrix B., geb. Burian verheiratet, die Adams zweimal portraitiert hat (1905 und 1923). Rassisch verfolgt, emigrierte das Ehepaar 1938 nach England (Wohnsitz bis mindesten 1957 in London). Margarethe Brünner kehrte zu einem unbekannten Zeitpunkt nach Wien zurück und lebte in einer Wohnung im 13. Bezirk. 1986 nahm die 84-Jährige noch bei der Eröffnung der Adams Ausstellung in der Akademie Schillerplatz teil und gab auch ein Fernsehinterview. Danach verliert sich ihre Spur.

Das Portrait Madame de Portas, das Adams 1925 auf eigene Initiative und Kosten anfertigte, ist ohne Zweifel eines seiner Hauptwerke und besticht sowohl durch seine Rembrandesque gedämpfte Farbgebung wie auch dem südländischen Reiz und der kühlen Eleganz der Dargestellten. (Dazu gab die Dargestellte 1986 in einem Fernsehinterview eine Erklärung: Er [Adams] „hat mir den Hof gemacht und er hat so viel Sachen z’amm‘gred die mir nicht gefallen haben“ weswegen sie den Blick kühl in die Ferne gerichtet habe.) Das Bild erregte 1925 bei der Ausstellung im Künstlerhaus Aufsehen und wurde viel diskutiert und auch in Zeitungen und Zeitschriften mehrfach publiziert. (Ursprünglich als „Die Spanierin“ bezeichnet, wurde die Identität der Portraitierten als Wienerin und Tochter des Portugiesischen Generalkonsuls Adolf Weiß erst später richtiggestellt, Die Stunde 25.6.1925 S.6). Es erhielt den Volkspreis, d.h. wurde per demokratischer Abstimmung unter den Besuchern der 1925 Künstlerhaus Ausstellung als bestes Werk gekürt.

Das Bild verblieb im Besitz von Adams, der es sehr geschätzt haben muss, da er es als einziges Bild 1927 nach Pittsburgh zu einer Ausstellung im Carnegie Institute schickte, Dessauer, 1927, S.17). Es gelangte aus seinem Nachlass an seinen Schwiegersohn und die Stiefmutter seiner zwei Enkelinnen, bei denen es bis 1986 verblieb. Nach der Adams Ausstellung wurde es bei Sothebys in London (Auktion 2.10.1996 Lot 178) zur Versteigerung gebracht um die Pflegekosten von Adams Enkeltochter Nina, die in Belgien während des Krieges versteckt (wegen ihrer Trisomie 21 Erkrankung und ihrer jüdischen Mutter war sie doppelt gefährdet) überlebte und dort bis zu ihrem Tode im Jahr 2010 in guter Obhut verblieb, zu bezahlen (Elizabeth Baum-Breuer, Institut für judische Geschichte Österreichs, Ausgabe 2019, S. 79). (Die Familie verfuhr ähnlich bei einem weiteren Adams Hauptwerk Gräfin Karolyi, das 1987 bei Christies London zur Versteigerung gelangte). Wie üblich bei Auktionen ist der/die Erwerber/-in des Portraits unbekannt.
.

Ausgestellt

1925 Künstlerhaus Wien (EL Vol.74 #3126).
1927 Carnegie Institute Pittsburgh, USA.
1986 Akademie Schillerplatz Wien, Wiener Gesellschaft im Portrait, Katalog Nr. 53.

Literatur

Schaffer/Eisenburger 1986, Ausstellungskatalog #53 (m. Farbabb.)

APH, Werksverzeichnis JQA 1995, S. 195, Kat.#162, Abb.#107.

Provenienz

Nachlass des Künstlers.
bis 1996 Familie Frank Wien (Verwandte des Künstlers).
Auktion Sothebys London 2.10.1996 Lot 178.
Unbekannte Privatsammlung.

Top