Iphigenie Buchmann-Castiglioni 1929

Full body portrait in standing position in a baroque pageboy costume (Rosenkavalier motif). The sitter is standing by an antique column with her right hand resting on the base of the column. She wears knee breeches, stockings, a richly decorated vest and an overcoat embroidered with floral patterns on the lapels and cuffs, a lace cravat at her neck, a baroque wig with curls and a braid tied by a stitch, and a rapier held with her left hand. In the background a stone parapet, over the right edge of which is draped a textile coverlet reaching to the ground. In the background an indicated park landscape.

Oil on canvas 215 x 128 cm
Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams 1929
Lost.
Photo B/W: Künstlerhaus Archive, Vienna.

Iphigenie Buchmann, married Castiglioni, remarried Kinskey, 23.8.1895 Mödling to 30.7.1963 Los Angeles USA.
Iphigenie Buchmann, daughter of a Viennese dentist, was engaged at the Hofburg Theater in 1912 at the age of 17 while still a student at the drama academy to play the role of Cleopatra in George Bernard Shaw's Caesar and Cleopatra. After this spectacular debut, however, she only played smaller roles and appeared in charity events. In 1915 she resigned from the Hofburg Theater to become engaged to Camillo Castiglione (marriage in 1916). With him she had two daughters Jolanda and Livia (as well as a stepson Arturo from a previous Castiglioni marriage).

Camillo Castiglioni was a colorful and controversial personality (described by one biographer as a "shark", see literature). Already a wealthy financier in 1916, he earned a fortune after the war in the hyperinflationary period in the disarmament of the Imperial and Royal Army. During the hyperinflationary period he amassed a widespread business empire. However, his financial fortune began to decline rapidly as a result of reckless (foreign exchange) speculative transactions. In 1926 he signed over to Iphigenie their castle-like villa on the shore of lake Grundlsee in order to take it away from his creditors (Iphigenie probably sold it without his consent in 1937 to a Swiss businessman; towards the end of the war Adolf Hitler's private library was stored there). In May 1935 Castiglioni's Viennese palace (Miller-Aichholz) with the art collection was seized and put up for auction by Haus Glückselig, including the Adams portrait (the second most expensive lot of the auction [2000 Schilling] after the car at 6000 Schilling), which was however redeemed before the auction and thus remained in Camillo Castiglioni's possession (Iphigenie was already in Hollywood by then).

The financial difficulties probably also prompted Iphigenie Buchmann's return to the theater (Josefstadt) in 1934. In 1935, Iphigenie Castiglioni traveled with Max Reinhard to the U.S., where she remained after the end of the guest performance and made a series of films in Hollywood (and changed her birth year from 1895 to 1901). Noteworthy film roles were that of Empress Eugenie in the 1936 film "The Story of Luis Pasteur," and (in a minor role) in Hitchcock's "Rear Window" in 1954. She divorced Camillo Castiglione in 1940 without his knowing (he was hiding in a monastery in Italy to escape the Nazis), and remarried in 1943 actor Leonid Kinskey (who played the Russian bartender Sasha in the 1942 film Casablanca.) Iphigenie died in Los Angeles in 1963 and is buried in the "Forever Hollywood" cemetery.

The Adams portrait of Iphigenia Castiglioni cites the Rosenkavalier motif to present Iphigenia Cstiglioni's much-described beauty, who according to press reports cared relatively little for jewelry and expensive clothes, in a new and interesting context. Perhaps the "roaring 1920's" and the turbulence that hit Austria and the Castiglionis were also cause for nostalgic recollection of the baroque era cited in the portrait. Unfortunately, no color image of the portrait exists and the painting has altogether disappeared (if it still exists, it is believed to be in Italy). The photo of the painting from the Künstlerhaus archive was not identified. The assignment to Iphigenie Buchmann was made according to a newspaper article describing the painting at the Glückselig auction (der Morgen 14.10.1935, p.10), as well as the Setzer portrait photo (see cross-references), which Adams faithfully copied in his portrait.

Exhibited

Literature

APH, Werksverzeichnis JQA 1995, p. 178, Cat.#45, no ill. (there incorrectly dated 1921).

N. Zähringer, book review of Reinhard Schlüter's Der Haifisch. Die Welt 22.8.2015

Provenance

1929-1935 Camillo Castiglioni Vienna.
Auction Glückselig 21.10.1935 lot 1495 (did not reach the auction).
Lost (possibly in Italy).

Top

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Iphigenie Buchmann-Castiglioni 1929

Ganzkörperportrait stehend im barocken Pagenkostüm (Rosenkavalier Motiv). Die Dargestellte steht an einer antike Säule, die rechte Hand auf der Säulenbasis ruhend. Sie trägt Kniebundhose, Strümpfe, eine reichverzierten Weste und einen am Revers und Stulpen mit floralen Mustern bestickten Oberrock, am Hals eine Spitzenhalsbinde, am Kopf eine barocke Perücke mit Locken und einen von einer Masche gebundenen Zopf, sowie einen mit der linken Hand gehaltenen Degen. Im Hintergrund eine Steinbrüstung, über deren rechten Rand ein zum Boden reichender Textilüberwurf drapiert ist. Im Hintergrund angedeutete Parklandschaft.

Öl auf Leinwand 215 x 128 cm
Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams 1929
Verschollen.
Photo S/W: Künstlerhaus Archiv, Wien.




Iphigenie Buchmann, verh. Castiglioni, wiederverh. Kinskey, 23.8.1895 Mödling bis 30.7.1963 Los Angeles USA.
Iphigenie Buchmann, Tochter eines Wiener Zahnarztes wurde 1912 als 17-jährige noch während ihrer Ausbildung an der Schauspielakademie ans Hofburgtheater engagiert um dort die Rolle der Kleopatra in George Bernard Shaw’s Cäsar und Kleopatra zu spielen. Nach diesem spektaulären Einstand, spielte sie aber nur mehr kleinere Rollen und trat in Wohltätigkeitsveranstaltungen auf. 1915 kündigt sie am Hofburgtheater, um sich mit Camillo Castiglione zu verloben (Heirat 1916). Mit diesem hatte sie zwei Töchter Jolanda und Livia (sowie einen Stiefstohn Arturo aus einer früheren Ehe Castiglioni‘s).

Camillo Castiglioni war eine schillernde Persönlichkeit (von einem Biographen als „Haifisch“ bez., s. Literatur). Bereits 1916 vermögender Finanzmann, verdiente er nach dem Kriege in der Hyperinflationszeit an der Abrüstung der k.u.k. Armee ein Vermögen und gelangte zu einem weitverzweigten Firmenimperium. Durch waghalsige (Devisen) Spekulationsgeschäfte begann seine finanzielle Fortüne allerdings rasch zu sinken. 1926 überschrieb er Iphigenie die schlossähnliche Villa am Grundlsee, um sie seinen Gläubigern zu entziehen (Iphigenie verkaufte diese wohl ohne seine Zustimmung wiederum 1937 an einen Schweizer Geschäftsmann; gegen Ende des Krieges war dort die Privatbibliothek Adolf Hitler’s ausgelagert). Im Mai 1935 wurde Castiglioni’s Wiener Palais (Miller-Aichholz) mit der Kunstsammlung gepfändet und in einer Auktion vom Haus Glückselig zur Versteigerung gebracht, darunter auch das Adams Portrait (das nach dem Auto mit 6000 Schilling, zweitteuerste Lot der Auktion mit Schätzwert von 2000 Schilling), das aber vor der Auktion wieder ausgelöst wurde und somit im Besitz Camillo Castiglioni’s verblieb (Iphigenie war da bereits in Hollywood).

Die finanziellen Schwierigkeiten veranlassten wohl auch Iphigenie Buchmann‘s Rückkehr ans Theater (Josefstadt) im Jahre 1934. 1935 reiste Iphigenie Castiglioni mit Max Reinhard nach den USA, wo sie nach Ende des Gastspiels verblieb und in Hollywood eine Reihe von Filmen drehte (und ihr Geburtjahr 1895 auf 1901 änderte). Bmkw. Rollen waren die der Kaiserin Eugenie im Film „The Story of Luis Pasteur“ 1936, sowie (in einer kleineren Rolle) in Hitchcock‘s „Rear Window“ 1954. 1940 lies sich sich von Camillo Castiglione scheiden (der davor erst nachher erfuhr, da er sich in einem Kloster in Italien vor den Nazis verstecken musste), 1943 wiederverheiratete sie sich mit dem Schauspieler Leonid Kinskey (der den russischen Barkeeper Sascha im 1942 Film Casablanca spielte.) Iphigenie starb 1963 in Los Angeles und ist im „Forever Hollywood“ Friedhof beerdigt.

Das Adams Portrait der Iphigenie Castiglioni zitiert das Rosenkavalier Motiv um die vielbeschriebene Schönheit Iphigenie Cstiglioni‘s, die sich laut Presseberichten relativ wenig aus Schmuck und teuren Kleidern machte, in einem neuen, interessanten Kontext darzustellen. Vielleicht waren auch die „wilden 20’er Jahre“ und die Turbulenzen die Österreich und die Castiglionis trafen auch Anlass zu einer nostalgischen Rückbesinnung auf die Barockzeit. Leider ist keine Farbabbildung des Portraits erhalten und daselbe auch verschollen (falls noch existierend, wird es in Italien vermutet). Das Photo des Gemäldes aus dem Künstlerhausarchiv war unbezeichnet. Die Zuordnung zu Iphigenie Buchmann erfolgte nach einem Zeitungsartikel (der Morgen 14.10.1935, S.10) in dem das Portrait in der Glückselig Auktion beschrieben wird, sowie dem Setzer Portraitphoto (s. Querverweise), das Adams in seinem Portrait getreulich kopiert hat.

Ausgestellt

Literatur

APH, Werksverzeichnis JQA 1995, S. 178, Kat.#45, o.Abb. (dort unkorrekterweise mit 1921 datiert).

N. Zähringer, Buchbesprechung von Reinhard Schlüters Der Haifisch. Die Welt 22.8.2015

Provenienz

1929-1935 Camillo Castiglioni Wien.
Auktion Glückselig 21.10.1935 Lot 1495 (gelangte nicht zur Versteigerung).
Verschollen (mglw. in Italien).

Top