Interior study for portrait of Johann II. Liechtenstein 1908

View of a salon in a baroque suite of rooms with white and gold paneling. In the center a round table, around which a sofa and four armchairs covered with red brocade are grouped. On the left, a window with a white curtain and dark red side panels. In the background, a half-opened double door, offering a view of another salon, where a white armchair with golden upholstery in front of a golden curtain, brightly lit by incident sunlight, can be seen. In addition to the seating group, the salon is furnished by cascading wall candlesticks, a lantern placed on a delicate table, as well as a Chinese-style cabinet on top of which a silver vessel is placed.

Oil on cardboard 66 x 47 cm
Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams. Merry Christmas. 1908.
Private collection Austria.

.
This interior study was a preparatory work for the portrait of Prince Johann(es) II. von und zu Liechtenstein, which Adams was commissioned to paint by the municipality of Vienna in 1908. This commission was a tribute to the prince from the city of Vienna in recognition of his generous patronage. The interior is faithfully depicted in the portrait, only the right edge of the picture with the white wall paneling and the two right armchairs is hidden in the portrait by a curtain and the portrayed prince.

The salon depicted was likely located in the city palace Liechtenstein, which was built in 1691-1694 in the style of the Italian High Baroque. Renovated in the 19th century and partially remodeled in the style of the Second Rococo, the palace was severely damaged by bombs and a crashed airplane during World War II and rebuilt after the war. Most recently restored in exemplary fashion in 2013, the Liechtenstein City Palace (the Princely Family owns another so-called Garden Palace in Vienna) is one of the most magnificent private palaces in the city, serving both as a residence and, in the 19th century, also housed the Princely Family's exceptional art collection (now in Vaduz). The palace is today the seat of Liechtenstein's private bank, the state rooms can be rented for events and can also be visited by appointment.

Adams likely made this interior study in the absence of the master of the house in the Liechtenstein City Palace and then used it in the completion of the portrait of Johann II. Liechtenstein. Subsequently, according to the dedication, the study was given as a Christmas gift to an unknown person who was connected to Adams either by friendship or by commissions.
.

Exhibited

Literature

Provenance

Unknown.
Art trade Upper Austria.
Dorotheum Linz, auction 5.10.2021 lot 194.
Private collection, Austria.

Top

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Interieurstudie zu Portrait Johann II. Liechtenstein 1908

Ansicht eines Salons in einer mit einer weiß-goldenen Vertäfelung ausgestatteten barocken Zimmerflucht. Im Zentrum ein runder Tisch, um den ein Sofa und vier mit rotem Brokat bespannte Lehnsessel gruppiert sind. Links ein Fenster mit weissem Vorhang und dunkelroten Seitenteilen. Im Hintergrund eine halb geöffnete Doppelflügeltüre, die den Blick in einen weiteren Salon freigibt. In diesem befindet ein durch einfallendes Sonnenlicht hell erleuchteter weißer Sessel mit goldener Polsterung vor einem goldenen Vorhang. Neben der Sitzgruppe ist der Salon durch kaskadenartige Wandkerzenleuchter, einer auf einem zierlichen Tisch befindlichen Laterne, sowie einem Chinoiserie-Schrank, auf dem sich ein silbernes Gefäß befindet, ausgestattet.

Öl auf Karton 66 x 47 cm
Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams. Merry Christmas. 1908.
Privatbesitz Österreich.

Diese Interieurstudie war eine Vorarbeit zu dem Portrait des Fürsten Johann(es) II. von und zu Liechtenstein, mit dem Adams von der Gemeinde Wien im Jahre 1908 beauftragt wurde. Dieser Auftrag stellte seitens der Stadt Wien eine Ehrung des Fürstens in Anerkennung seines großzügigen Mäzenatentums dar. Das dargestellte Interieur ist im Portrait getreulich dargestellt, lediglich der rechte Bildrand mit der weißen Wandvertäfelung und den zwei rechten Lehnsesseln ist im Portrait durch einen Vorhang und den portraitierten Fürsten verdeckt.

Der dargestellte Salon befand sich wohl im Stadtpalais Liechtenstein, das 1691-1694 im Stile des italienischen Hochbarock errichtet wurde. Im 19. Jahrhundert umgebaut und teilweise im Stile des zweiten Rokoko umgestaltet, wurde das Palais im Zweiten Weltkrieg durch Bomben und ein abgestürztes Flugzeug schwer beschädigt und nach dem Kriege wieder aufgebaut. Zuletzt 2013 vorbildlich restauriert, ist das Stadtpalais Liechtenstein (die Fürstenfamilie besitzt in Wien ein weiteres sogenanntes Gartenpalais) eines der prunkvollsten privaten Palais der Stadt, das sowohl als Residenz als auch im 19. Jahrhundert der Unterbringung der exzeptionellen Kunstsammlung der Fürstenfamilie (nunmehr in Vaduz) diente. Das Palais ist Sitz der Liechtenstein’schen Privatbank, die Prunkräume können für Veranstaltungen gemietet und auch nach Voranmeldung besichtigt werden.

Die Interieurstudie hat Adams wohl in Abwesenheit des Hausherrn im Stadtpalais Liechtenstein angefertigt und diese dann bei der Fertigstellung des Portraits Johann II. Liechtenstein verwendet. Anschließend wurde die Studie laut Widmung als Weihnachtsgeschenk an eine unbekannte Person, die mit Adams entweder freundschaftlich oder durch Aufträge verbunden war, überreicht.
.

Ausgestellt

Literatur

Provenienz

Unbekannt.
Kunsthandel Oberösterreich.
Dorotheum Linz, Auktion 5.10.2021 Lot 194.
Privatbesitz Österreich.

Top