Countess Alice Harrach 1919

Half portrait en face, looking directly at the viewer. The portrayed wears a wide-cut lace dress, over it a fur stole, around her neck a long double-row pearl necklace, which she holds with the fingers of her left hand, as well as on her ring finger a gold ring and sapphire earrings, which are enclosed with pearls. Her brown hair is wavy and pinned up. Background: brown wall surface. The whole portait is executed entirely in different shades of brown.

Oil on canvas 80 x 62 cm
Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams 1919.
Private collection Austria.





Alice Countess Harrach, née Countess zu Hardegg auf Glatz und Machlande, 10.7.1879 Groß-Harraß to 10.2.1962 Aschach an der Donau.
Alice ("Icy") Harrach was born into the old noble family of Hardegg. The Counts of Hardegg go back to before 1200, the present Counts go back in direct family line to before 1500. Today the Hardegg family is known as the owner and operator of the largest agriculture in Austria (more than 2000 hectares of farming, livestock, viticulture and forestry). From 1900 on Icy Hardegg was a member of Viennese society and her appearances at events and her wardrobe were regularly reported by the press. Her appearance "resembled a porcelain figurine" (Fritsche 1922, p.12) and her beauty is often described and documented in pictures. On Feb. 1, 1910, she married Franz Maria Alfred Count von Harrach (1876-1937), who was twice widowed. The Harrachs, who were raised from Baron to the rank of Count in 1627, are known today primarily for their large art collection, which is displayed in a private museum open to the public at their ancestral home, Rohrau Castle, in a small village east of Vienna (where Josef Haydn was born). The marriage was blessed with a daughter Alice Harrach (1916-2006), who married Baron Dreihann-Holenia in 1940 and kindly served as lender to the 1986 Adams exhibition.

Her mother Alice (Icy) Harrach led the characteristic life of the high aristocracy of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Alternating stays between her palace in Vienna Favoritenstraße, the castles of Aschach (Upper Austria) and the extensive estates in what is now Czechoslovakia (Schloss Groß-Meseritsch and Schloss Janowitz, nationalized after 1945) and in health resorts, active participation in social events and in charitable initiatives characterized her life. The First World War, the downfall of the monarchy, and the law abolishing the nobility represented a drastic caesura for Franz and Alice Harrach. Count Franz Hardegg was the adjudant of the heir to the throne Franz Ferdinand and a direct witness to the assassination in Sarajevo, in which Franz Ferdinand and his wife Sophie (traveling in Count Hardegg's automobile - today in the Museum of Military History) were murdered. Probably also in order to resist this loss of social role, the portrait Alice Countess Harrach was commissioned from Adams in 1919. During the interwar period, the Harrach couple continued their accustomed lifestyle between their estates and castles, now in Czechoslovakia, and in Vienna. The death of the Count in 1937, the Second World War, and the loss of the estates in Czechoslovakia were certainly traumatic experiences for Alice Harrach. She died in 1952 in her residence in the park of Aschach Castle, which vacant and dilapidated, finally was sold in 1959.

The portrait Alice Harrach is without doubt one of the most important and charismatic works of Adams. The coloration, quoting Rembrandt, is done only in brown tones, the distinguished expression, as well as the beauty of the now 40-year-old speak directly to the viewer. Together with the portraits of Count/Countess Hans and Marie Traun (see cross-references), it initiated in 1919 a renaissance of representative portraits of the aristocracy, now deprived of their political functions, titles, and names. This task Adams gladly took on and it produced a series of masterful portraits of which that of Alice Harrach certainly represents a highlight.
.

Exhibited

1986 Academy Schillerplatz Vienna, Viennese Society in Portrait, Catalog No. 46

Literature

Schaffer/Eisenburger 1986, exhibition catalog #46 (with color ill.).

APH, catalog raisonné JQA 1995, p. 172, cat.#139, fig.#94.

Provenance

Sitter.
Her family descendants,
Private collection, Austria.

Top

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Gräfin Alice Harrach 1919

Halbportrait en face, den Betrachter direkt anblickend. Die Portraitierte trägt ein weit ausgeschnittenes Spitzenkleid, darüber eine Pelzstola, um den Hals eine lange zweireihige Perlenkette, die sie mit ihrer linken Hand umschlungen hält, ebenso wie am Ringfinger einen Goldring sowie Saphir-Ohrgehänge, die mit Perlen umfasst sind. Ihr braunes Haar ist gewellt und hochgesteckt. Hintergrund: braune Wandfläche. Das gesamte Portait ist lediglich in verschiedenen Brauntönen gehalten.

Öl auf Leinwand 80 x 62 cm
Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams 1919.
Privatbesitz Österreich.



Alice Gräfin Harrach, geb. Gräfin zu Hardegg auf Glatz und Machlande, 10.7.1879 Groß-Harraß bis 10.2.1962 Aschach an der Donau.
Alice („Icy“) Harrach wurde in die alte Adelsfamilie der Hardegg geboren. Die Grafen von Hardegg gehen bis vor 1200 zurück, die gegenwärtigen Grafen gehen in direkter verwandtschaftlicher Line bis vor 1500 zurück. Heute ist die Familie Hardegg als Besitzer und Betreiber der größten Landwirtschaft Österreichs (mehr als 2000 ha Ackerbau, Viehzucht, Weinbau und Forstwirtschaft) bekannt. Ab 1900 ist Icy Hardegg Mitglied der Wiener Gesellschaft und über ihre Auftritte bei Veranstaltungen und ihre Garderobe wird von der Presse oftmals berichtet. Ihre Erscheinung „glich einem Porzellanfigürchen“ (Fritsche 1922, S.12) und ihre Schönheit wird sowohl oft beschrieben als auch in Bildern dokumentiert. Am 1.2.1910 verehelichte sie sich mit dem zweimal verwitweten Franz Maria Alfred Graf von Harrach (1876-1937). Die Harrachs, die 1627 vom Freiherren in den Reichsgrafenstand erhoben wurden, sind heute vor allem durch ihre große Kunstsammlung bekannt, die in einem öffentlich zugängigen Privatmuseum auf ihrem Stammsitz Schloss Rohrau, in einem kleinen Dorf östlich von Wien (in dem Josef Haydn geboren wurde), ausgestellt ist. Der Ehe entsprang eine Tochter Alice Harrach (1916-2006), die sich 1940 mit dem Baron Dreihann-Holenia verehelichte und freundlicherweise als Leihgeberin der 1986 Adams Ausstellung fungierte.

Ihre Mutter Alice (Icy) Harrach führte das charakteristische Leben der Hocharistokratie der k.u.k. Monarchie. Wechselnde Aufenthalte zwischen ihrem Palais in Wien Favoritenstraße, den Schlössern Aschach (Oberösterreich) und den ausgedehnten Besitzungen in der heutigen Tschechoslowakei (Schloss Groß-Meseritsch und Schloss Janowitz, nach 1945 verstaatlicht) und in Kurorten, rege Teilnahme an gesellschaftlichen Veranstaltungen und bei karitativen Initiativen prägten ihr Leben. Der Erste Weltkrieg, der Untergang der Monarchie, sowie das Gesetz zur Abschaffung des Adels stellten auch für Franz und Alice Harrach eine einschneidende Zäsur dar. Graf Franz Hardegg war Adjudant des Thronfolgers Franz Ferdinand und unmittelbarer Zeuge des Attentates von Sarajevo, in dem der Thronfolger Franz Ferdinand und seine Gattin Sophie (in Graf Hardeggs Automobil – heute im Heeresgeschichtlichen Museum- unterwegs), ermordet wurden. Wohl auch um sich diesem gesellschaftlichen Rollenverlust zu widersetzten, ist das Portrait Alice Gräfin Harrach 1919 bei Adams in Auftrag gegeben worden. Das Ehepaar Harrach setzte in der Zwischenkriegszeit seinen gewohnten Lebensstil zwischen seinen nun in der Tschechoslowakei liegenden Gütern und Schlössern sowie in Wien fort. Der Tod des Grafen 1937, die Zweite Weltkrieg, sowie der Verlust der Güter in der Tschechoslowakei waren für Alice Harrach sicherlich traumatische Erlebnisse. Sie verstarb 1952 in ihrem Wohnhaus im Park des Schlosses Aschach, das leerstehend und baufällig, schlussendlich 1959 verkauft wurde.

Das Portrait Alice Harrach ist ohne Zeifel eines der bedeutendsten und charismatischsten Werke von Adams. Die, Rembrandt zitierende, lediglich in Brauntönen gehaltene Farbgebung, der distinguirte Ausdruck, sowie die Schönheit der nunmehr 40-jährigen sprechen den Betrachter unmittelbar an. Zusammen mit den Portraits des/der Grafen/Gräfin Hans und Marie Traun (s. Querverweise) leitete es 1919 eine Renaissance der repäsentativen Portraits der nunmehr ihrer politischen Funktionen, Titel, und Namen beraubten Aristrokatie ein, einer Aufgabe der sich Adams gerne stellte und die eine Reihe von meisterlichen Portraits hervorbrachte, von denen das der Alice Harrach sicherlich einen Höhepunkt darstellt.
.

Ausgestellt

1986 Akademie Schillerplatz Wien, Wiener Gesellschaft im Portrait, Katalog Nr. 46

Literatur

Schaffer/Eisenburger 1986, Ausstellungskatalog #46 (m.Farbabb.).

APH, Werksverzeichnis JQA 1995, S. 172, Kat.#139, Abb.#94.

Provenienz

Dargestellte.
Ihre Familiennachkommen,
Privatbesitz, Österreich.

Top