Portrait of a lady, alleged. Amalia Edlinger 1908

Full-length portrait of a standing young lady in a slightly side view, her head slightly tilted and turned towards the viewer. She wears a floor-length black chiffon dress with a wide neckline and over her shoulders a light gray fur coat with light blue silk lining, which she holds onto her left shoulder with her left hand and lets it swing forward holding it with her right hand at waist level. The sitter is wearing a single row short pearl necklace, pearl ear clips, and a pearl ring. A small pearl necklace is braided into her brown hair like a diadem. In the background of the picture, an antique massive chest of drawers, a landscape wall tapestry, and a partially gold-framed painting are visible.

Oil on canvas 215 x 135 cm
Signature: John Quincy Ɑdams 1908
Unknown private collection.
Image: Auktionshaus Geble, Germany.

This portrait, dated 1908 according to the auction house, was unknown in Adams literature until its auction on July 2, 2011. Described at auction as "Portrait of a Standing Young Woman, Probably Lady of Viennese Society," there was no provenance or other indication that would allow identification of the sitter. For the image from the auction later posted on Wikimedia Commons, an anonymous English comment appears: "this is Amalia Edlinger from Vienna," an attribution for which, however, no source or documentation is given, making independent verification impossible and therefore reproduced here merely as a hypothesis, but one that is considered rather implausible. The attribution to Amalia Edlinger seems implausible for two reasons: first, Amalia Edlinger was already married in 1908 and the portrait would certainly have been labeled Amalie Schrantz/Schranz and not with the sitter's maiden name. Second, there is a portrait of Amalie Schranz that Adams made and exhibited in 1912 (lost, see cross-references) and a double depiction of the same person is rare with Adams.

Based on the alleged attribution and dating, the sitter could be Amelia (later: Amelie) Schrantz, née Edlinger, 5.4.1877 Vienna to 21.1.1954 Vienna.
She was the daughter of the textile industrialist Ferdinand Edlinger (1844-1932) and Amalia/Amalie E. (1849-1928), née Wech. Her parents were great supporters of the construction of the Sacred Heart Basilica in Kaisermühlen, which was inaugurated in 1895, a ceremony attended by Emperor Franz Josef I. in person. On this occasion, young Amelia presented him a bouquet of flowers. (The parents also donated a stained glass window for the Maria Hilf Church in Vienna VI.) On October 20, 1902, Amalia Edlinger married the industrial magnate Alfred Friedrich Schrantz (1876-1914, also the spelling Schranz exists) in the Evangelical AB Church in Vienna. He was president of Huetter & Schrantz AG, which was founded in 1824 and still exists today. Alfred Schrantz ended his life in 1914. Between 1919/1925, Amalia Schrantz remarried the Hungarian Count Georg Orssich and henceforth called herself Amelie Orssich. Press reports testify to difficulties in adapting to the new economic and social circumstances, which were accompanied by a series of court cases, but the lifestyle of the couple remained upper middle-class with staff, villa in Hiezing as well as city apartment in the IV district. Amelie Orssich died on 21.1.1954 and is buried in the Edlinger family crypt in Vienna Hietzing.

The present portrait is typical for Adams in the time before the First World War. The need for representation of the aspiring upper bourgeoisie is reflected in the clothing and jewelry of the portrayed, as well as feudal residential interior (staged in Adams' studio at Theresianumgasse 5). The depiction, however, remains "bourgeois" in comparison to Adam's later glamorous portraits of ladies. Only the sweep of the coat, which the sitter is about to remove, lends the portrait an interesting dynamic element in otherwise rather static portraits. 1908 marked Adams' breakthrough as a portrait painter: his portrait of the art and science patron Johann II Prince Liechtenstein, (see cross-references) commissioned by the city of Vienna, attracted great public attention and recognition. Accordingly, Adam's fees also increased. In this respect, the attribution to Amalia Schrantz and her family background (both father and husband were industrialists, respectively big industrialists and are listed for 1910 by Sandgruber Traumzeit für Milliadäre, 2013, as the 788th and 137th richest Viennese by income tax) can be considered plausible.

Exhibited

Literature

Provenance

1908-1954? The sitter and her family.
Unknown private collection (USA?).
2.7.2011 Auction Auktionshaus Geble, Germany.
Unknown private collection.

Top

John Quincy Adams, Werkschau John Quincy Adams, Bilder von John Quincy Adams

Damenportrait angebl. Amalia Edlinger 1908

Ganzkörperportrait einer stehenden jungen Dame in leichter Schrägansicht, ihr Kopf leicht geneigt und dem Betrachter zugewandt. Sie trägt ein bodenlanges schwarzes Chiffon Kleid mit weitem Ausschnitt sowie über ihren Schultern einen hellgrauen Pelzmantel mit hellblauem Seidenfutter, den sie mit ihrer linken Hand auf ihrer linken Schulter festhält und mit ihrer rechten Hand in Hüfthöhe nach vorne ausschwingen lässt. Die Dargestellte trägt eine einreihige, kurze Perlenkette, Perlen-Ohrclips sowie einen Perlenring. In ihr braunes Haar ist eine kleine Perlenkette diademgleich eingeflochten. Im Bildhintergrund ist eine antike massive Kommode, ein Landschafts-Wand-Gobelin sowie teilweise ein goldgerahmtes Bild sichtbar.

Öl auf Leinwand 215 x 135 cm
Signatur: John Quincy Ɑdams 1908
Unbekannter Privatbesitz.
Abbild: Auktionshaus Geble, Deutschland.

Dieses laut Auktionshaus mit 1908 datiertes Portrait war bis zu seiner Auktion am 2. Juli 2011 in der Adams Literatur unbekannt. Bei der Auktion als „Portrait einer stehenden jungen Frau, wohl Dame der Wiener Gesellschaft“ bezeichnet, gab es keinerlei Provenienz oder sonstige Hinweise, die die Identifizierung der Dargestellten ermöglichen würde. Zu dem später auf Wikimedia Commons geposteten Bild aus der Auktion scheint ein anonymer englischer Kommentar auf: „this is Amalia Edlinger from Vienna“, eine Zuschreibung, zu der allerdings keinerlei Quelle oder Dokumentation gegeben wird, was eine unabhängige Überprüfung unmöglich macht und deshalb hier lediglich als Hypothese, die aber als unplausibel erachtet wird, wiedergegeben wird. Die Zuschreibung zu Amalia Edlinger erscheint aus zwei Gründen unplausibel: erstens war Amalia Edlinger 1908 bereits verheiratet und das Portrait wäre sicherlich als Amalie Schrantz/Schranz bezeichnet worden und nicht mit dem Mädchennamen der Dargestellten. Zweitens gibt es ein Portrait der Amalie Schranz, das Adams 1912 angefertigt und ausgestellt hat (verschollen, s. Querverweise) und eine zweifache Darstellung der selben Person ist bei Adams selten.

Aufgrund der angeblichen Zuschreibung und der Datierung würde es sich bei der Dargestellten um Amelia (später: Amelie) Schrantz, geborene Edlinger, 5.4.1877 Wien bis 21.1.1954 Wien, handeln.
Sie war die Tochter des Textilindustriellen Ferdinand Edlinger (1844-1932) und der Amalia/Amalie E. (1849-1928), geb. Wech. Die Eltern waren große Förderer des Baues der Herz-Jesu Basilika in Kaisermühlen, der 1895 eingeweiht wurde, einer Zeremonie der Kaiser Franz Josef I. persönlich beiwohnte. Bei dieser Gelegenheit überreichte ihm die junge Amelia einen Blumenstrauß. (Die Eltern stifteten auch ein Glasfenster in der Kirche Maria Hilf in Wien VI.) Am 20.10.1902 verehelichte sich Amalia Edlinger in der Evangelischen AB Kirche in Wien mit dem Großindustriellen Alfred Friedrich Schrantz (1876-1914, die alternative Schreibweise Schranz wird ebenso verwendet). Er war Präsident der Huetter & Schrantz AG, die 1824 gegründet und auch heute noch besteht. Alfred Schrantz schied 1914 durch Freitod aus dem Leben. Zwischen 1919/1925 verehelichte sich Amalia Schrantz wieder mit dem ungarischen Grafen Georg Orssich und nannte sich fortan Amelie Orssich. Presseberichte bezeugen Anpassungsschwierigkeiten an die neuen ökonomischen und gesellschaftlichen Umstände, die mit einer Reihe von Gerichtsverfahren einher gingen, aber der Lebenstil verblieb weiterhin großbürgerlich mit Personal, Villa in Hietzing sowie Stadtwohnung im IV. Bezirk. Amelie Orssich stirbt am 21.1.1954 und ist in der Edlinger Familiengruft in Wien Hietzing beigesetzt.

Das gegenständliche Portrait ist ein typisches für Adams in der Zeit vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg. Das Repräsentationsbedürfnis des aufstrebenden Großbürgertums wird durch Kleidung und Schmuck der Portraitierten, sowie feudalem Wohninterieur (in Adams Atelier in der Theresianumgasse 5 inszeniert) Rechnung getragen. Die Darstellung verbleibt jedoch „bürgerlich“ im Vergleich zu Adams späteren mondän inszenierten Damenportraits. Lediglich der Schwung des Mantels, den die Dargestellte in Begriff ist, abzustreifen, verleiht dem Portrait eine interessante Dynamik in ansonsten eher statischen Portraits. 1908 bedeudete für Adams den Durchbruch als Portraitmaler: sein Bildnis des Mäzens Johann II Fürst Liechtenstein, das von der Stadt Wien in Auftrag gegeben wurde, sorgte für große öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit und Anerkennung (s. Querverweise). Dementsprechend stiegen auch Adams Honorare. Insofern ist die Zuschreibung zu Amalia Edlinger/Schrantz und ihrem Familienhintergrund (sowohl Vater als auch Ehemann waren Industrielle, bzw. Großindustrielle und werden für 1910 durch Sandgruber Traumzeit für Milliadäre, 2013, als 788- und 137-reichste Wiener nach versteuerten Einkommen gelistet) wiederum auch durchaus plausibel.

Ausgestellt

Literatur

Provenienz

1908-1954? Die Famile der Dargestellten, Wien.
Unbekannter Privatbesitz (USA?).
2.7.2011 Auktion Auktionshaus Geble Deutschland.
Unbekannter Privatbesitz.

Top